“This is the day the Lord has made” and Homemade Chipotle / Qdoba / Mexican-ish Food

Greetings from Minnesota! 20 degrees out, and I finally managed to get outside for a run during daylight. God made a great day, and I’ll have more to say on that in my “Running Tales.”

I’m not really the type to post a lot of food pictures on my blog, mostly because I blog about cows and running. Anyhow, I figure I can safely post this picture without appearing as though I’m impersonating a true food blogger because the quality is so poor. (cringe).

I have no excuse for this grainy photo other than it was about 9:00 by the time we got supper on the table, and I was ravenous. I thought this tasty little feast may make good blog content, but I only snapped one measly picture before proceeding to fill my empty belly. So I dressed the picture up with labels 🙂

If you would also like to create your own burrito/fajita hybrids, follow these easy-as-pie steps!

1) Start some chicken sauteing with onions, peppers, and your choice of Mexican seasonings

2) Make some rice and some beans; simply stir a can of beans in with the cooked rice if you want to use fewer dishes.

3) Chop more fresh onion, peppers, and tomato if you have them – or just get out the salsa.

4) Warm some tortillas and slice fresh avocado, olives and other veggies as desired.

5) Fill tortilla shells with rice, beans, chicken and veggies.

6) and this step is important… top with cheese and sour cream. (gotta get your 3-a-day of dairy, right??)

Running Tales

As I said above, I made it outside with my running shoes today. It was a pretty average paced run over wet and slippery streets, but it really felt awesome. I just kept breathing in and out, in and out, and marveling at how good it felt to be running. None of my parts hurt too badly, the wind was light to non-existent, and I managed to have just the right amount of layers on.

Even though it wasn’t super fast – 4.62 miles @ 9:22 – I give thanks for it just the same. Today totally reminded me of a song I learned back in Sunday School called “This is the Day.”

  •  “This is the day that the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

After my harried post yesterday, I realize the need to slow down and enjoy the day for what it is. It’s a day the Lord has made.

Have any things you do to remember to appreciate each day?

Any restaurant foods you like to re-create at home?

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “This is the day the Lord has made” and Homemade Chipotle / Qdoba / Mexican-ish Food

  1. Brit says:

    Lately I have been waking up super early to “enjoy my day”. So often my evenings are filled with working out, cooking, chores, conference calls, and doing who knows what else, but I can have the mornings to enjoy for myself because that time is less in demand.

    We recreate all kinds of foods at home because there aren’t very many good places to eat here. I think our favorite is homemade sushi, but we have also attempted P.F. Chang’s lettuce wraps and CPK BBQ chicken pizza.

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I’m totally not creative enough to recreate any kind of restaurant meals. lame. I just bought some Qdoba seasoning a few days ago.. I kept seeing recipes call for it but I never had any and I finally saw some while I was in the store so I swooped it up and now I’m on the prowl for a recipe to use it in!

    I don’t think I do anything specific to appreciate things each day. I do try to remember to pray at night, but I forget more often than not. :-/

  3. it’s very hard for me to slow down and appreciate the day. usually i never do! i think that whenever i’m living in the moment that’s when i really can just be and i guess that’s when i appreciate things the most

    hizzah to running in daylight. i love the days getting long thing 🙂

    • Lisa says:

      I’m going to steal your first line and quote it back “it’s very hard for me to slow down and appreciate the day.”
      This is true for me much of the time. Just because I’m asking all of you what you do to appreciate the day doesn’t mean I’m always good at it myself. Sometimes it just has to be an intentional effort, because otherwise I would entirely fail to appreciate the beauty and blessing around me.

      BTW – “hizzah” what a great word 😀

  4. KrisB says:

    Now I totally have Today is the Day by Lincoln Brewster stuck in my head. Which is great because it’s one of my favorite praise and worship songs ever.

    I have never heard of Qdoba. Off to google it.

  5. Bree says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed your run -it was a good one! Now I have that song in my head 🙂

Leave a Reply

