Why I Write About the Weather

Greetings from Minnesota my lovely readers. It’s about 20 degrees, light snow, and the wind is blowing so hard the snow drifts seem to form faster than we can move them. In a word – “yuck.”

Before I head back outside, I thought I’d warm up inside a bit and share a few thoughts…

Today’s weather got me thinking about why I’m so interested in the weather anyway. After all, I do start out every post by talking about it!

I think the simple answer to this question is I spend a lot of time out in the weather. Just the other day, I was talking to a friend about how nice the 40 degree temps we had earlier this week were.

I remarked something along the lines of “It’s crazy to think just earlier in February it was 20 below. It’s amazing how warm 40 feels in comparison.” My friend certainly agreed, but she also said she really didn’t spend much time outside when it was 20 below. Smart girl!

Unless people are avid winter sports lovers (or dedicated runners like some of you who run outside all year round), their time outside in frigid weather may be limited to just walking to and from their car several times per day.

So maybe I write about weather because I have a more accurate read on how the weather truly feels than a lot of people?

Let’s not talk winter anymore. Let’s talk summer. In summer Minnesotans  definitely spend much more time outside and are probably more “in  tune” with the weather overall.

But as dairy farmers, we have a lot at stake with summer weather. We worry about our cows when it gets too hot and humid and monitor our fans and water misting system like it’s our job (because it is ;-).)

If we have fresh-cut hay on the ground, we worry about the sky raining on our hay the way a bride with an outdoor ceremony planned worries about rain on her wedding day.

So maybe I write about weather because it effects our farm and cows so much?

Only one more observation, I promise.

So on Saturday night as I was feeding bottles to the calves in hutches, I realized it was probably almost 6:00, and it was still light out! Glorious to actually be able to see outside at this time and have a little more daylight.

Now I know the length of daylight isn’t exactly weather, but it is does follow the changing of the seasons. Longer days mean warmer weather is eventually coming. Because I’m outside day in and day out at the same times, I really do notice the subtleties of extra daylight or the moon switching from a tiny sliver to amazingly round.

So maybe I also write about the weather because something changes every day, and I just enjoy noticing?

What ever the reasons, I know that all true Minnesotans like to discuss the weather! I also give thanks to God that he gave us some warm, spring-like weather to enjoy before this nasty storm came today.

Running Tales

A pretty boring report today. I knew my weekend would be mostly consumed by the farm, so I got up early, early on Saturday  – it was still dark – and headed to the gym for 10 miles on the treadmill. I was running a few minutes behind, so I figured I’d only have time for 9.

I actually felt pretty good as I jogged along and listened to early morning news, but around mile 8 I got the nagging pain in the back of my left leg again. It was more of a sharp pain than dull, so I tried to work through it for only a few minutes before I knew it wasn’t worth the risk. Saturday’s total of 8.15 miles @ 9:49 is certainly better than nothing.

I ask so many questions about the weather that I wanted to think of something original for this post. So… describe your idea of perfect weather for me.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I Write About the Weather

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I like all your weather talk. It is a constant reminder that I am fortunate to live in Florida. I’m always surprised when I open up your blog and see that the weather is in the 20s, or teens. Our weather was perfect this weekend. It was in the 70’s and it was just beautiful! I think it’s supposed to hang out for most of the week and into next weekend, yay!

    I hope your temps warm up, for good, soon!

  2. sweatykid says:

    “Perfect weather” is totally contextual for me. I would hate to live somewhere where the weather is always the same — I love seasons. Today, the weather was perfect… for February: high-20’s, fresh powder on the ground, blue sky, no wind — beautiful and comfortable. But if that were the weather in say, April, I’d be pissed.

    So even though today’s weather was “perfect” my idea of winter, I AM excited for the days of shorts and t-shirts again. I like temperatures in the mid-60’s — still in the range of ideal running weather, without being cold!

  3. Brit says:

    Perfect weather for me is also an “it depends”. For running, I would like it in the range of 38-50 degrees with sunshine, low humidity, and no wind. For a BBQ, it should be 80 and sunny with a light breeze. Each activity has its own definition for perfect weather.

Leave a Reply

