Have I turned into wonder woman?

Greetings from Minnesota! It is nearly 40 degrees out – Hallelujah 😀

Saturday dawned mild and sunny with a touch of wind, and I was eagerly looking forward to heading outside for my long run. A few things came up to delay my start, but I finally made it outside around 10:00 a.m.

My “sort-of” schedule said 9 miles, but I’d missed a few miles during the week and the weather was so nice I decided on at least 10 as long as I was feeling good. So check out these wonder woman stats….

I shouldn’t really post stats like these unless it’s April Fool’s Day… too bad they aren’t slightly more realistic! My GPS lost signal around mile 9, so I paused it and restarted to see if it would correct itself. Instead, the mileage shot up to say 20.7. When I finished and pushed end, the mileage increase again to what you see above. Good grief…

I was pleasantly surprised to see the splits are at least somewhat intact.

I started off a little too fast considering I haven’t run this far in several months, so I backed off the pace and tried to just run easy. I figured I would speed up at the half-way point and see what I could maintain. At my turn around I made a point to look at distance (5.53 miles) and pace (9:57) in case of a malfunction.

I really felt like I did speed up the second half and my legs felt ok even the last few miles, so I’m a little bummed to have to guesstimate my stats. My time of 1:50:15 is accurate, but I wonder if I didn’t add a little extra distance the second half because of more snow to weave around on the shoulder coming back?

At any rate, I’m happy with my apprx. 11.06 miles at 9:58 pace. I’ve got to learn to not get so hung up on my gadgets and just enjoy the fact that I got a 30+ degree day in February to run 11 miles!

Do you have beautiful weather in your area this weekend?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Have I turned into wonder woman?

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    It is 41 degrees today…I am suiting up for my 10 mile run. Heck, suiting up is a pretty strong term for the lack of layers I am wearing right now! I love spring-like weekends in February! 🙂

    Sounds like you had a great run…hopefully the good weather does the same for me!

  2. sweatykid says:

    Isn’t it a hoot when we get excited about these 30+ degree days… and how comparatively balmy they are? Glad you guys finally got a break from those big freezes — congrats on a great run — sounds like it was a quality effort even if you don’t have all the data you wanted… sometimes the data is overrated anyway!

    • Lisa says:

      I think the data is overrated. Even though I like it ponder over it, sometimes I should just focus on the simple act of running. Hope you’ve got some nice weather too!

  3. Courtenay says:

    Did 6.5 up at Como Park in St. Paul this afternoon. 43 degrees and sunny! Beautiful run. It seemed like everyone was outside enjoying this wonderful day! Congrats on your 11 mile awesome run!

    • Lisa says:

      Good for you!! I used to love going to Como Lake when I lived in St. Paul. Is your blog limited to just family and friends? If so that’s fine, but otherwise you should send me an invite. Cowspotsandtales at gmail dot com. I’d love to check it out 🙂

  4. i had decent weather this weekend. i thinks it’s probably a sad thing that i consider no snow, 30* to be beautiful hahah

  5. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Wow, I would have really bugged out if runkeeper did that to me today! Glad your weather was, uh, warm?

    It was in the 60’s today when I went out.

  6. Brit says:

    I had great weekend weather too! I made it out for two runs and even wore capris!

    Great job on a long run! I am finding that it is much more difficult to work my way up to “long” runs than I remember.

  7. KrisB says:

    Glad you had great weather this weekend! We’re already in the low 70’s and I’m not in a rush for it to get much warmer.

Leave a Reply

