My Accent Vlog… finally

Greetings from Minnesota!

I kept meaning to actually create an accent vlog like the ones I’ve seen on so many of your blogs, and I finally did. Then, I kept meaning to post it. Now, I finally have! Check it out, and let me know your opinion on the dreaded question… “Do I have an accent?”

Words:
Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

The questions:
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

Other Observations –

  • Good gosh I seem to have a long and bony neck!
  • My pink fleece is kind of baggy (almost frumpish?) I also normally don’t wear quite this much pink.
  • My voice sounds weird, but I also think it’s a universal truth that people think this voice sounds different when recorded.

Like I said at the end of the vlog, I hope to actually start posting a few videos from the farm now that I’ve gone to the immense trouble of creating a YouTube account 😉 Seriously though, watch for some more videos around here soon.

Accent – yes or no?

Do I sound like you expected?

If you have an extra 5 minutes and time to blog this weekend, check out my first “Project: Share & Discover” Challenge. Have a great weekend!

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Accent Vlog… finally

  1. Brit says:

    That was really fun to watch! I want to make one, but I don’t want to hear my voice on tape. I’m on the fence with that one. I have a very unique voice and a very unique accent so it would be interesting. We’ll see.

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you did this vlog thing. Uh, yah, you definitely have an accent. I thought you had an accent before you even said a full sentence. 😉 & your voice doesn’t sound like what I pictured, but I’m sure mine doesn’t either.

    …and Brit, DO IT!

  3. sweatykid says:

    Yup, definitely an accent! Your speaking voice goes along well with your writing voice — I mean to say, I wasn’t “surprised” by your voice. And I third that Brit should do it, now I’m all curious.

    • Brit says:

      I just recorded mine. It is uploading. I am uber dork. And I look like an alien on it to boot.

      I agree that Lisa’s voice matches her writing. (Ignoring the weird things that recording does to our voices.)

  4. i love vlogs. it’s so much fun being able to actually hear others. and yes definitely an accent. but i love it 🙂

    pop? no way. no matter what brand it’ll always be a coke to me 😉

  5. Courtenay says:

    Fellow Minnesota girl here! And NOPE! You don’t have an accent!! Unless I have one too!

  6. Heidi Nicole says:

    I don’t hear much of an accent, but I’m just over the border and probably can’t tell the difference…I might have to throw my own up just for giggles…

    Having my voice out there isn’t bad, it is how dorky I am in front of a camera that scares me!

    I agree with the others – your voice matches your writing.

  7. No accent at all! Coming from another Minnesooootan… 🙂

  8. I’m also from MN, so I don’t think you have an accent really. I feel like we enunciate our vowels a little more than people from other parts of the country, but I don’t notice it very often.

  9. Bree says:

    I don’t think you have a strong MN accent. I think mine is worse! So fun to hear your voice 🙂

Leave a Reply

