Dreaming of…

Greetings from Minnesota! Another day of single-digit temperatures and double-digit negative wind chills.

I know I should just embrace the beauty of the white snow, but somehow I just can’t find it in myself to do so today. In my head, I’m humming “White Christmas” and changing the lyrics to say “I’m dreaming of a warm morning. With green grass and sunny skies…” I’m sure you get the point.

Shall we do a happy little visualization exercise?

Apple blossoms and tulips in my yard

 

Ice Free Running Paths

A lake that's not frozen over

Outdoor calves free from snow!

Maybe it will be an early spring this year? 🙂

No running tales today, as things got crazy at work and the farm. I took a full rest day, which was probably for the best. Tomorrow I plan 4-5 and hope everything feels good. 

If you could be transported into any of the above pictures, which would you select? (Those of you that live in warm climates can play too, even if these pictures don’t look that much different than your current weather!)

  

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dreaming of…

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Well, even though our weather is quite wonky and warm right now, I’d go to the one by the lake!

    I hope that it warms up soon for you! Good Luck on your run tomorrow, hopefully it’s pain free!

  2. sweatykid says:

    Amen. I’ll transport myself to all of the photos: go for a run on that path, jump off that dock to cool off in the lake (because it’s soooo hot out), then lay a towel down in that yard and read. With a huge bowl of chocolate ice cream, provided indirectly by those cows.

    Move along now, February! Move along!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    I like snow…but I like snow when its about 25 degrees out, NOT 25 below zero! My perfect world has a little of everything…heat, snow, fall colors, fresh spring flowers…

    Although I am pretty excited for the slushy yuck of spring – just because outdoor runs will be “happier”.

  4. I just want to pet the calves, so I choose that one!

    Alternatively, I’d love to be basking in Napa Valley sunshine with a glass of vino. Sigh.

  5. Brit says:

    I would transport myself to that ice free running path. I think ours is pretty close to ice free right now, but it looks warm on that path. My path is a chilly 3 degrees right now. Sunday we are supposed to get up to 40! I am SO excited!

  6. KrisB says:

    I would transport myself to the running path. Not that ours have ice on them….. we don’t have ANY. No paths, no trails.

    I’m with Brie on the Napa Valley sunshine and a glass of vino. Sounds heavenly.

Leave a Reply

