Noses

Greetings from Minnesota! Usually February is at least somewhat warmer than January, but the -15 temp (and 25 below windchill) that greeted me this morning doesn’t really inspire confidence. They say it should hit 30 degrees by the weekend, and it can’t come soon enough 😀

The exciting topic on today’s agenda is noses. One nose in particular. The nose belonging to 3092!

I’m not really sure why, but I’ve always thought cow noses are cute. Especially when they are pink with black speckles. Now you probably think I’m really weird, and I’ll admit you’re likely not too far off with that thought…

In other calf care news, we’ve moved a group of calves outside into brand new hutches. We’ve had these new hutches on order for several weeks because we just don’t have enough to go around. We still haven’t moved any newborn calves outside recently, but we were able to move about 15 calves that were born in January.

We’ve got a little bit of assembly to do when we get new hutches. In the picture below you can see some of the metal screws and latches we attached.

Getting New Hutches Ready

Running Tales

Ug. I’m feeling like the universe is against me here 😦 My legs aren’t 100%, but at least last week was a step-back week in my not-quite-official training for the Fargo Marathon. I got in most of the miles I was supposed to, and I’m hoping this week is better. For the immediate future, I think I need to stick to running only every other day.  I may have to be flexible with moving my long run between Saturday and Sunday, so we’ll see how that goes.

Instead of stewing more about whether I’m ready to train for this race or not, I’m going to try praying about it. I don’t know why I manage to forget that prayer is important and useful in all parts of life. I believe God gave me the ability to run, He helped me discover I love running, and I’m certain He can guide me in the right direction about Fargo.

I did 3 miles yesterday on the treadmill at a conservative 9:48 pace. No sharp pains, and aside from some tightness in my troubled left leg, the run felt ridiculously easy and boring. Today I did a few quick miles on the stationary bike, upper body weights and core work. I’m hoping it warms up enough (or I am tough enough) to get outside for my run on Wednesday!

Can anybody recommend some fairly quick weight or strength workouts specifically beneficial for runners? I’m not looking for something as intensive as NROLFW, but I feel like I’m really not making the most of my strength training.

Do you agree with me at least a little bit that calf noses are cute? 🙂

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Noses

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Yes, Yes cow noses are definitely adorable!

    I have no suggestions for weight works outs, sorry.

    The universe was against me today as well..nothing running related, but everything else.

    I also have to alternate my long runs between saturdays and sundays depending what is going on.

  2. sweatykid says:

    Adorable cow nose freckles! Good luck figuring out the Fargo training… sounds frustrating… I’m kind of on an every-other-day running thing as well with the injury stuff. Onward and upward!

  3. Brit says:

    The cow noses are cute! I didn’t really think about cows having black or pink (or both) noses until I read this. Until today, I tended to think of cows as having black noses.

    I am trying to keep my running closer to every other day, or not more than 4x per week. I “scheduled” my long runs for Sundays, but life seems to be dictating that I will do many of them on Saturdays, Fridays, or even Thursdays. I’ll roll with it. I would really like to better my marathon time this year and the only way to do that is for me to get out there and try again.

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    Critter noses are also cute… However, I think you should throw in a photo of a calf/cow nose when they are drooling and dripping snot – I remember that all too well. Of course this is also the one time they are extra insistent on rubbing up on you!

    I am cutting back on my scheduled runs this week too (and last week, but that wasn’t planned…). I’m trying to look at is in a sense where the QUALITY is more important then the QUANITITY…

  5. Bree says:

    I love how pink their noses are!

    As for strength training, when I am doing more running I basically break things down into 5 groups and try to cover them each once a week. I know that sounds like a lot, but if you only do 2 exercises per group you can cover the whole body fairly fast. This is very non technical, but here are my groups: Front of legs (quads), back of legs and hips (hamstrings, glutes, hips), upper body horizontal, uppder body verical, and finally abs. If you look at my workouts on my blog you will see what exercises I do for each. Like I said – not technical but it did help me maintain my strength for a few months when training for my race.

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks Bree – this does looks like a good grouping that I could stick with! I need to re-read some of the workouts on your blog and potentially ask a few questions if I don’t know what something is. I used to be a “good” lifter (or at least better) back in my H.S. days, but I truthfully just don’t remember the movements and form of some lifts anymore 😦

Leave a Reply

