I think hibernation is in order!

Greetings from -10 degree Minnesota.

Happy Groundhog’s Day everybody! No matter what little Punxsutawney Phil saw this morning, I’m firmly ready for spring.

I’m not going to post a lot about the farm tonight, mainly because it was such a long, cold night that I’m ready to move on to tomorrow! I will mention that we had a lovely new heifer about 7 pm. We got her into the calf warmer right away, and she’s doing well.
Also… I do have a link I want to share. Let me just give a bit of background.

When I say I’d like to hibernate, it’s not all due to the weather. Sometimes I’d just like to get away from TV, the media, and all the craziness it delivers for a while. But I can’t hibernate, so instead I will comment.

Anybody around here watch Oprah? I haven’t in years, but Oprah’s words carry weight. When she recommends a book, people buy it. And when she recommends a diet, such as the recent episode on going vegan that aired, I have a feeling people try it.

I will be the first to tell you that I think it’s awesome (and I’m grateful) that here in America we can pick our diet and choose what we wish to eat. We are lucky that food is safe, readily available, and generally affordable.

As a farmer, I’m also really concerned about the accuracy and credibility of information that’s given about our food system. I didn’t see the Oprah episode, and I can’t yet directly comment on the info given, but somehow I’m guessing it didn’t exactly give a standing ovation to America’s dairy, egg, and meat farmers. So while I can’t do a direct discussion of the show, I can invite you to check out this post written on a blog I follow called “Confessions of a Farm Wife.”

http://webelfamilyfarm.blogspot.com/2011/02/veganism-or-nepotism.html – thanks Emily!

I hope it provides some good food for thought. Whether you believe in eating animal products or not, I think it’s  fair to say that we could all benefit if the media always tried to give a balanced look at any issue they cover. Agreed?

Any other thoughts or comments??

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I think hibernation is in order!

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I have been “hearing” a lot of comments on Oprah’s show via twitter. I don’t like Oprah and I could care less what she says. (hello, she makes millions, she’ll say anything).

    I will definitely check out that link… and I promise I will go back to your last few posts and comment, and do your Project Share & Discover! hopefully tonight while I’m sitting on the couch losing brain cells during greys anatomy & jersey shore!

    I hope winter ends soon for you! I can’t imagine how miserable it is outside on the farm! -10 is stupid cold!

    • Lisa says:

      No worries Jena, none of us are obligated to comment on everything 🙂 I’m not too worried about my Project:S&D either. I figure people need to have some actual uninterrupted time to do it, so it could be towards the end of February until I really start getting posts. Enjoy your night!

  2. lauren says:

    I’m not a fan of Oprah either – but media in general tends to give a skewed view of what really happens. Most of us take it with a grain of salt, but some believe word-for-word what is said on TV. This is where we each, individually, need to take the time to educate ourselves, not rely on Oprah, Fox News, Nightly News, CNN, to tell us what we should believe.

    • Lisa says:

      Good observation! I will admit though if I hear a story (negative or postivie) about an issue I’m not as interested or informed about, I’m sure the slant of that story forms the basis of my opinion. For better or worse, we can’t dig deep into every issue, but you’re so right that we shouldn’t rely on the media to tell us what to believe.

  3. Brit says:

    I don’t follow Oprah, so I don’t know what she said either, but I have a feeling that it needs to be scrutinized with a bit of common sense. In the trailers for the show it sounded like people lost a lot of weight quickly by eating vegan, but I have a feeling that the same results could have been accomplished just by cleaning up their diets in general.

Leave a Reply

