We’ve Discovered a New Favorite…

Greetings from Minnesota. We’ve got a lovely forecast tonight – a windchill advisory telling us to expect 35 to 40 below zero windchill factor. The radio announcer nicely added that “frostbite can occur in 30 minutes or less in these conditions.” I’m grateful that it’s not quite that bad yet, and I’m also happy to now be safely inside!

Now about this new favorite we’ve discovered. It relates to food – and J and I do love food :-).

While doing a big “stock up on everything” shopping trip several days ago, we passed by these spendy little fruits.

They're dates; here they are sitting in our kitchen

As you can see from the picture, we bought them. I guess they’re not THAT expensive in the grand scheme of things. Besides, they’re more – for lack of a better word – condensed than most fruits.

I haven’t had fresh dates for a long time, and we both tried one as we were unpacking the groceries. Literally – these things taste like a miniature baked cake or bread. There must be flour and brown sugar somewhere inside because they seem too substantial to just be a fruit. Very tasty, but I definitely couldn’t eat too many at a time either.

J, on the other hand, was less than impressed. He thought it was “okay”, and I was wondering how in the world I would go through all these dates if they have a short shelf life. Well the next day, I casually mentioned that I’d heard cream cheese is good on dates. I know, leave it to us to incorporate a dairy product with everything ๐Ÿ˜‰

We tried this combo, and can I just say….. amazing.

No, I am not trying to tempt Wellington with the date and cream cheese. He just happened to be in the background, and it made for a more interesting picture. I do think he would happily eat the date!

While my husband maintains that dates are just an effective vessel for eating cream cheese, I don’t mind because at least we won’t have any problems polishing off the container.

Running Tales

I tempted fate today. I’ve been saying I need to avoid running 2 days in a row, but I felt good today and so did an easy 2.5 miles. Yesterday was some conservatively paced 800m repeats on the treadmill for a total of about 4 miles. I figured if nothing felt worse today after those repeats I could do a slow and easy run, which is just what I did. Now for the monthly re-cap.

Monthly Running Tales

  • 54.6 miles in January (and so far in 2011)
  • 257 miles on my trusty New Balance shoes      

My first thought is ack – not very good! BUT… I didn’t run the first week of January because of my accident, and I’ve been conservative trying to deal with this weird-o upper leg problem. I also feel almost all of my runs this month were “good.” I think I’m in better shape than I was at the beginning of the month, so I’ll just call that a victory and plan to run more in February.

I thought I would avoid discussing my self-imposed Feb 1 deadline to decide about running Fargo, but that’s not really fair. Here’s the scoop: I haven’t registered to run Fargo, but I plan to stick with the training plan as though I am. We’ve got a busy few months to deal with a lot going on in our lives and at the farm, so I just don’t want to have a meltdown if I register now and then things fall through. But – I really hope to be in Fargo on May 21 with bells on!

Do you like dates (the fruit kind, not the movie and dinner kind)?

What are your spring race plans?

Pretty please take some time this month to participate in my Project: S&D for Feb 2011 (details in the tab in the header).

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Running, Wellington and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We’ve Discovered a New Favorite…

  1. shelby says:

    I love dates….stuffed with cheese and wrapped in bacon, please.

    Stay warm – that sounds like some crazy weather! Forecast is calling for a high of 73* here today and I’m just not sure I believe it – when 3 hours north they are having ice storms? The weather here is so weird!

  2. sweatykid says:

    Yowza, cold temps ahead. You Minnesotans are tough — respect!! I don’t buy dates very often, but when I do I like to eat ’em with peanut butter. Each one is like a mini pb&j snack attack…

  3. Brit says:

    I like dates, but I don’t buy them because they’re pretty expensive. My in-laws buy dates so I eat theirs sometimes when I visit. Maybe that’s rude?

    I have the same marathon training plan as you do…train, but don’t sign up until right before. In theory I want to run a marathon, but I feel like actually signing up is tempting fate a it too much. I hope to either run the Illinois Marathon, Flying Pig Marathon, or Country Music Marathon the first weekend of May.

    I’m planning to participate in your Project: S&D…I just haven’t gotten to yet. I have every intention of doing it though, I promise!

  4. KrisB says:

    I’m with Shelby on the bacon wrapped dates, prefferably stuffed with goat cheese. Yum. But I suppose they are pretty good on their own.

  5. i don’t think i’ve had a date by itself. i like putting them (with nuts) into oats. stay warm. i feel bad about complaining about my weather.

  6. lauren says:

    I’d use the dates as a vessel for peanut butter! ๐Ÿ™‚ I do enjoy them in homemade granola……

    Spring races: Couples 5k and a half-marathon (so far!)

Leave a Reply

