Project: Share and Discover #1 – Take Time To Breathe

Hello my lovely readers; greetings from Minnesota. It still continues to snow here, and that’s all I’ll say about the weather!

I don’t know why I’m so energized about my new Project: S&D, but when I sat down to blog tonight I couldn’t shake the thought that I wanted to get this thing rolling. I’m not going to wait until February 5th or even February 1st; I’m just going to post it right now.

Don’t feel you need to do this tonight – though you can if you want too. Wait until a good time for you, and then blog about your results and link up before the end of February.

Project: Share and Discover for February 2011

  • Take time to breathe.

This seems like a simple command, right? Obviously you and I both are taking time to breathe, and we do it to stay alive. But I’m asking you to take time to think about breathing, enjoy breathing, and be grateful for breathing. I want you to do this for a full five minutes.

I’m guessing this sounds like a short time to some of you, while others who have small children underfoot feel like five uninterrupted minutes is an eternity. So take the time you can mange, but do try for at least five minutes. Keep things quiet. While you’re breathing, let your mind clear. Or let it wander if it needs to. Take some big breaths of air, and do some light stretching if it feels good.

Once you’ve taken your five minutes (or more) to just breathe, take a few moments to chronicle how you felt. You can use the questions at the end of this post as a guide, but don’t feel restricted to them.

And just for the record, this project isn’t always going to be an exercise in meditation :-). It seems like you, my awesome readers, are such busy ladies that I didn’t want this first post to be overwhelming or just something else on your to-do list. Instead, I wanted to “give” you all a few minutes if that’s possible.

Don’t forget to come back to this post and link up – I’ll be doing it too. If you don’t have a blog and want to participate, please email me your thoughts at cowspotsandtales@gmail.com.  I know you’ll have great things to say!

How often do you take a few minutes all to yourself to just breathe?

What did you think about?

How does your mind feel? How about your body?

Are you stressed about anything? (no need to share anything more specific than you’re comfortable with)

Will you do this little five-minute exercise again?

**EDIT – it appears that linky tools is no longer a free subscription, so I ‘m going to work on finding some other link system that allows people to post links right in this post. (any suggestions?) In the meantime, if you write up a Project:S&D entry for February 2011 just leave the link to your post in the comments. Thanks!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Project: Share and Discover #1 – Take Time To Breathe

  1. totally not a simple command at all! i rarely take the time to just breathe. i’m currently at work (and probably need to do it now) but i’m going to take the time to do this as soon as i leave!

  2. I think this is a great idea! Breathing exercises are great stress relievers, so I will definitely be participating 🙂

  3. Pingback: My Accent Vlog… finally « Cow Spots and Tales

  4. Pingback: Project: Share & Discover – Feb 2011 « Cow Spots and Tales

  5. Pingback: Project: Share & Discover #2 – Be a Blessing « Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

