Another snowy night and more treadmill miles

Greetings from snowy Minnesota.

There’s no question it’s been a snowy winter, and I think I’m officially sick of snow. Lucky for us, cows do well in cold weather. All of our hutch calves are healthy and strong, and our milking cows much prefer chilly winter to the 80+ degree days of summer. (Ah…. the 80 degrees of summer. I can almost imagine the warm air on my face and the bright, sunny sky. Okay, moving on.)

Even though swirling snow can be a pain, it can definitely be pretty…

Swirling Snow - just a bit bleached out from editing

A snow bank

And I think that’s enough cold and snowy pictures for a Monday. Mainly I figure I owe you a quick update on my Saturday long run. Here goes.

Running Tales

On Saturday I woke up about 6:00, and my darling husband remembered to inform me we needed to be at the farm by about 8:00. (Normally Saturday morning is our time off if possible and we don’t go to the farm until the afternoon, but that doesn’t always work out.) This change in schedule gave me two options.

1) Get out of bed, hoof it to the gym, and get my 8 miles in on the treadmill.

2) Stay in bed for a while, go to the farm by 8:00, and attempt to get my run done sometime mid-day.

I selected option 1, mainly because I didn’t know how long our project at the farm would take, and I didn’t know how motivated to run I would feel after we were done.

Once I got on the treadmill, the first mile was awful. I like to be awake at least a 1/2 hour (and more if possible) before I start running or my legs just feel like lead. Those first few minutes were so sluggish I worried about my ability to get through 1 mile – let alone 8 – but I trudged on.

The good news is the run improved as I kept going, and the last few miles felt pretty easy. I certainly could have tacked on another mile or so if I’d had time. The bad news is my upper left leg is still not feeling exactly normal. It gets a little tight while I’m running, and it definitely needs ice after. Overall it is no worse than it was 2 weeks ago, so I figure I can keep running, right??

For those of you that like numbers as much as me – the official stats were 8.06 miles at 9:48 pace. I ended the week with 16.5 miles, which is lower mileage than I’d like. My problem is this sore leg. I really feel like I can’t run 2 days in a row right now because of it, and I don’t want to make things worse.

I will say that all 3 runs this last week were good, so I’m just going to stick with lower mileage and a little more cross training until I feel comfortable adding another running day or two.

Thanks for listening to my woes; happy Monday all!

What is your strategy for dealing with a small, but nagging injury?

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Another snowy night and more treadmill miles

  1. Jena says:

    Whooweeee, great job getting those 8 miles done on the treadmill. I know how “un-fun” that was!

    I feel like you do about running 2 days in a row with an injury. I’ve also been trying to only run every other day so my hip/knee can rest inbetween runs.

    You need to make a trip to Florida ASAP so you can thaw out. Our high tomorrow is 78 {we have a spare room} 😉

  2. Brit says:

    I’m glad to hear that you made it out for your 8 miles. I often feel sluggish when I run first thing in the morning also. If I had a completely flexible schedule, I think I would run sometime between 10 AM and 2 PM each day. That would be so nice!

  3. sweatykid says:

    My strategy for those muscular naggers is to attack it with ice and foam rolling/massage (although there is such a thing as too much foam rolling). And I’m with you only one running day at a time for a little while… lots of cross training. I try to placate my worries by telling myself that a week or two of dedicated injury management (read: cross training instead of running) won’t cause much detraining anyway, and is preferable to making things worse and having to deal with the pain for even longer. (Though it’s always hard to take my own advice when I reallllly would rather run!)

    Sorry to hear that this upper leg pain is still at it. What has the chiro been saying about your lower back alignment?

    • Lisa says:

      My chiro actually did some more lower back adjustment last week, and I think it’s really helped. Before that I would notice pain in my upper leg throughout the day, but now I really only notice that it’s tight after a run and icing helps. I definitely feel like it’s healing and getting to be less of a problem than it was, so hopefully that’s the case!

  4. Bree says:

    Eight on the treadmill is impressive!

    Hope that pain gets better. Foam rolling help at all?

    No more snow!

    • Lisa says:

      It’s funny how I’m getting a bit immune to long distances on the treadmill – a year ago I don’t think I could have fathomed being on the TM for over an hour. Foam rolling generally helps me, but this is in such a weird spot that it’s hard to foam roll, if that makes sense. I haven’t actually tried lately so I should put that on my agenda for tonight!

  5. lauren says:

    I look forward to reading about injuries as well – my knee still aches a bit, mostly when I’m cold!

    Way to go on the long-run! You missed great weather here in NC this weekend. Yesterday was 70 degrees. Today….42!

  6. i really don’t deal well with small injuries. i keep running. which then makes it a big injury and then i get help.

    ugh to snowy winters. that storm you’re getting is coming my way 😦

  7. Heidi Nicole says:

    The Stick and/or a foam roller are my bestest friends! I tried out my cousins foam roller this past weekend after a long run and heavy lifting in one day (dumb) and loved it…although it hurt like a mother during the process! Ice packs (or frozen wash clothes in ziploc bags) are also pretty awesome – you can form them into whatever shape you want and freeze them that way, I have a few shin-shaped ones.

    Its ALMOST February, that means we only have a month or two of this crap left…right!?

Leave a Reply

