An Idea Has Been Brewing…

Greetings from 30 degree Minnesota. Yup, I think the mercury actually made it that high today, and I can honestly say it feels fabulous!

I’ve been at this whole blogging thing coming up on 6 months, and it’s been an amazing journey so far. It’s been a blessing actually. I think God knew I needed to be more connected to others with similar goals and interests, and this blog has proved to be the perfect platform to make it happen.

Especially living in a rural area where I don’t see a lot of my close friends or even my family as often as I’d like, it’s helpful to be able to blog about things I might otherwise keep inside. And the running advice I get is so appreciated because I don’t know who else would listen to my rants and questions. 🙂

I’ve gotten feedback, encouragement, and tough questions from some awesome readers, and I’ve enjoyed sharing the happenings of my farm life and realizing that most of the information is new to lots of you. I’ve also been introduced to great blogs I likely wouldn’t have found otherwise, so thank you!

Don’t worry, this isn’t a goodbye post or anything. This is actually a strangely worded introduction to a new addition for my blog I’ve been thinking about. The idea came to me while I was feeding calves. It seems like many ideas – everything from a new supper idea to a blog post to working out tough personal problems – get sorted out while I’m either feeding calves or running.

I’ve found the blog community to be a great place to share, so I’ve decided to try to create something to facilitate that sharing further. Now Introducing:

I wanted to come up with a really cool and clever name, but after a lot of thinking I still haven’t. So, “Project: Share and Discover” it is. At least for now. I’m going to create a separate tab to talk about this project, but I’ll give you a little inside scoop of some of the details.

I envision Project: Share and Discover (PSD) to provide an opportunity for my readers to connect and share ideas and hopefully learn more about themselves and others through the process.

How will it work? I (Lisa) will provide some sort of prompt or challenge in each PSD post that I do. I anticipate trying to do this monthly, say the first week of every month, and then the post will be open for comments and submissions on the topic indefinitely. Most of the prompts will likely ask about things you already do in your daily life, but some of them may require you to do something new to participate.

I’ll have some sort of blog hop or link button on each post so you can share your answers/thoughts on your own blog and just link up. Not sure if anybody will join in that doesn’t blog, but if they do, then submissions can be emailed to me at cowspotsandtales@gmail.com. I’ll probably just create a separate post each month for any emailed submissions I may get.

Why would I want to do this? This is an excellent question, and one I hope to figure out the answer to. I anticipate coming up with questions or challenges that will help you feel empowered, do some self-reflection, or just have fun. I’ll be open to comments and suggestions as I get started as well.

When can I expect the first Project: Share and Discover post? Soon! I plan to have something posted at the beginning of February, so watch for it.

Running Tales

4 miles of speedwork on the treadmill was today’s plan. I must say I actually looked forward to it all morning, and the run didn’t disappoint. I’ve been running outside for the last few weeks, and the idea of just putting on a tank and shorts, and not messing with a hat or gloves, sounded great.

 I did intervals of speed and recovery, and actually felt pretty good even running at 7:45 pace. I think I could have pushed the pace even more, but I am still having pesky twinges in my upper left thigh. It’s getting better, but just not 100%. Including a slower warm-up, I finished 4.25 miles in 38 minutes/ 8:55 pace.

And today’s questions…

As of now, I plan to abbreviate my Project: Share and Discover as PSD. Does PSD have any sort of strange/grotesque meaning that I’m not aware of?? It appeared safe when I googled it, but you never can tell about these things. 🙂

Any experts out there who can help me with creating a button for this project? I’ve got a square image (that I may or may not edit further), but I’m not sure how to create the html code and format to allow people to “grab” the button for their own blogs. Instructions anyone?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Idea Has Been Brewing…

  1. Brit says:

    Great idea! I can’t wait for the first PSD post!

  2. sweatykid says:

    Very cool concept; interested to participate and see this grow!

Leave a Reply

