Ahh-Mazing

Greetings from Minnesota! The deep freeze hasn’t happened yet, and luckily it’s still about 20 degrees outside. Guess we’ll see how long that lasts…

I just want to take a moment to declare that my chiropractor and her massage therapist are fabulous. Honestly, I don’t know what I’d do without them. After my little mishap last month, my neck, shoulders and back have not been quite right. Don’t get me wrong, they’ve gotten much better since the accident, but I still felt a little tight and stiff.

I haven’t been to my chiro in over a year, and I’ve never had a massage, but after checking in with my regular doctor I decided this was the next logical step. (I know chiropractors aren’t for everybody, but luckily my experience has been fabulous.) I’ve had 2 adjustments, and I had my first ever professional massage today. Ahh….. 😀

The first truth is that it hurt. There were moments where I honestly thought my back might explode, and she kept reminding me to tell her if the pressure ever got greater than “a 7 out of 10.” Well, I’m bad about gauging these sorts of things, so mostly I just figured that more pressure would get those wretched knots out faster. I did have a moment of weakness where I squeezed out, “Ah, pretty sure you’re at a 7” but mostly the experience was that “good sort of hurt” mixed with relaxing and fabulous.

Now I’m drinking tons of water, which apparently is a cardinal rule after a massage, and I have another scheduled for next week. I could get a little too used to this….

Maybe this whole schedule of adjustments and massage will also help some of these mysterious running aches and pains I’ve been having. I hope so (and I even think it makes sense because obviously the body is all inter-connected and stuff like that).

Sometime tomorrow I hope to do a long run. J and I also have a looong weekend stretching ahead because one of our full-time guys at the farm is on vacation for the next 5 days. I may have to engage in operating some machinery I’m not used to, so I’ll think about reporting on the success (or lack thereof) if it happens. My main hope is that I don’t break anything (on the machinery, not on me!).

Another random thought about massage. I think it is a true gift from God. Honestly. It was relaxing and energizing at the same time, and I’m thinking the physical benefits are going to be grand. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I find it easy to look to God when I have problems and am at my wit’s end, but I forget to say thanks when things are going good and work out to my benefit.

 “Thank you God for helping me find a good team to get my body back to normal!”

And with that, I wish you all a fabulous weekend.

Have you ever operated a piece of machinery or vehicle that scared you a bit? For me, I think this would be the first time I drove a tractor. I don’t really remember how old I was when my dad gave me a few instructions and sent me off on the John Deere 4020, but I’m pretty sure I was freaking out. I didn’t actually wreck anything, but to this day I’m definitely not a great driver 😉

Ever had a massage? If not, I highly recommend it.

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ahh-Mazing

  1. sweatykid says:

    Never had a professional massage — sounds inTENSE! But I have had a great injury management experience with chiropractic that really helped sort out all of my past hip dysplasia & sacroiliac issues.

    A scary piece of machinery? Anything to do with DVD players, TVs, satellite, etc. I seriously cringe every time I look at a remote, because I know that I’m going to wreck something and press the wrong button. That might be a big part of why I don’t watch much TV on actual TVs. Everything is so complicated, too many buttons, too many inputs, and basically I feel like a moron every time.

    I guess that stuff is all quite a few notches below ANY piece of farming equipment in terms of risk factor, huh? 😉

    • Lisa says:

      Hahaha! Maybe not the risk factor, but TVs with all the extra gadgets nowadays definitely have almost as much potential for frustration and general confusion 🙂

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I’ve never had a massage, sad, I know. I also can’t think of any machinery that I’ve had to operate that was big and scary? Maybe a car when I first started driving?

    Happy Weekend

  3. Brit says:

    I’m glad that your treatment is working out (and secretly a bit jealous that you’re getting a few massages out of it). I wish that Chris was a back massage-y guy, I don’t need professional ones, anything will do! That is not his cup of tea though. Bummer.

    I was really scared the first time I drove our tractor. We have a JD 2305, so it is just a little guy, not like 4020, but it is still the most expensive thing that I have ever bought (aside from our house), and it had so many unfamiliar buttons and levers. I can drive it like a champ now though. 🙂 Whew!

Leave a Reply

