Cold Weather and a Birthday

Greetings from Minnesota. Typical January cold has settled in, and it was -10 when we left for the farm this morning.

The interesting thing about chilly winter days is they tend to be clear, bright, and sunny. When it’s cloudy and overcast it seems like that provides “insulation” aganist the cold, but when it’s so sunny your eyes sting, that’s when the real cold comes.

It looked pretty nice this morning, but don’t let that fool you! It’s 10 below and lots of layers are required.

During this chilly weather my youngest nephew had his first birthday. All my sisters, plus both sets of grandparents and even great grandparents arrived at my sister and brother-in-law’s house to celebrate. After some awesome food and quality family time we were ready for cake.

This little guy definitely knew how to enjoy his first birthday cake 🙂

My nephews and me

Running Tales

On Saturday morning I was up early – like 5 am early – and I didn’t really want to wait around for it to get light. The below zero weather also didn’t sound very appealing.

I headed to the gym and made it through 7 miles on the treadmill. My hamstring was really tight for some reason so I stopped every 2 miles or so to stretch it out, but it was still a confidence-boosting run. My longest of 2011 so far and hopefully a good prelude for longer runs to come.

I’m struggling to come up with a question for today, so feel free to make a random comment or share a fun fact about yourself. Have a great Sunday!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cold Weather and a Birthday

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    10 below sounds like a nightmare. You need a trip to some warmer weather, it’s in the 60’s here today. Chris is out fishing and I’m working on a grocery list with the windows open.

    Hope you have a great weekend.

    • Lisa says:

      The past 2 winters we’ve actually been lucky to be able to get away somewhere warm, but no plans yet this year. I’d love it to work out, so we shall see!

  2. We were complaining this morning because it dropped from 36 to 20 degrees here in CO while we are on vacation… We should probably shut up considering we are headed home tomorrow to even colder weather!

  3. sweatykid says:

    What IS it about those clear bright days being the coldest ones? I bet some atmospheric sciences person could tell us the answer. Something to do with high pressure systems vs. low pressure systems..? Props for gutting through the 7 miler, I hope the hamstring pain turns out to be nothing!

  4. Jess says:

    Thank you so much for your very kind comment on my blog. What a great way to start my day! 😀

    I love that the little calves have “jackets” on. Hee hee.

Leave a Reply

