“The farm is on a gravel road” And Other Considerations

Greetings from Minnesota; 15 degrees and light snow flurries here today.

  • The farm is on a gravel road.
  • We live in Minnesota where snow and ice can be present on roads nearly 1/2 the year.
  • We have a dog who is getting close to 100 lbs and we haul around everywhere (and luckily he loves to ride in the car!)

These were just a few of the things J and I were thinking about when we started car shopping after the unfortunate end of my Impala a few weeks ago. After WAY too many hours looking at cars on the internet and several different test-drives, we are the proud owners of…

A Subaru Outback! I’m in love with the standard all-wheel-drive, traction control, heated seats, built-in blue tooth, great mileage & safety features and the list could go on. Beyond that, I’m pretty pumped that it’s RED 🙂

Silly I know, but red is definitely my favorite color for a car. I’ve never had a red car, and when I realized I would be needing something new I was determined to track down the right one and find it in red. It’s kind of snowy/cloudy in the pictures, but I can assure you the color is fab.

Since I got it earlier this week, everyone keeps telling me that I’m way more likely to get pulled over due to the color. I guess I’ll just have to follow all the rules…

The other unique thing about the Subaru (for us at least) is that it’s a Japanese car. I will admit that I honestly thought it might be an Australian car, but luckily I didn’t let that slip at the dealership 😉

Now I know tons of you probably drive “foreign” cars, and Toyota’s and Honda’s are now as common as Chevy’s. Foreign is rather a relative term to me because a lot of them are built in U.S. But anyway, in my family everybody drives something made by GM. And in H’s family, most everybody drives a Ford.

I’m still thrilled with our Outback, I’m happy to have something a bit unique, and we’ll just have to hope it holds up for a long time so we don’t hear “I told you so” from anybody!

Running Tales

The truth? It’s been another rather bleak week for running. Between buying the car, a crazy amount of activities going on at work and keeping up at the farm, I’ve only gotten in a few runs. Today I managed a short session on the treadmill, and I’m hoping the weather is nice tomorrow so I can get outside for at least 5 miles.

Miles so far in 2011 = 5.2. And on that note, let’s just say I fully intend to get back on track next week.

What are your current wheels? Are you a happy driver, or do you want something different?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “The farm is on a gravel road” And Other Considerations

  1. Oooh…nice, shiny new car! Nice! 🙂

    The Husband has a Subaru Impreza WRX…it has come in very handy with the AWD and such with the crazy amounts of snow we have gotten in WI. Sometimes I think he has a little too much fun driving around on the icy roads!

    I have a plastic Saturn which hates snow and ice…someday I’ll get a better car…someday…

  2. shelby says:

    We just have one car and it’s a Toyota 4Runner. I like it! The gas mileage sucks but neither of us drives very often, so it’s not a big deal to us.

    My favorite car was an old Ford Ranger that I used to have when we lived in Ohio. It was manual everything and made strange noises quite often, but never actually broke down. I loved that thing….

  3. Tara says:

    Glad to hear you found a new car! Looks nice and roomy.

  4. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I drive a Scion TC, and Chris drives a Chevy 1500.

    I am a toyota girl. I had a honda civic for a little while, and that car had a ton of miles on it, and was still running like a champion when I sold it. I also drove a ford mustang and that thing was a piece of crap.

    We are currently looking at buying a 4runner. I’m actually on autotrader.com looking at them right now! My very first vehicle was a 4runner and I’ve been in love with them ever since.

Leave a Reply

