Running Through 2010

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s about 10 degrees and snowy, but that didn’t stop me from finally getting in my first run for 2011 (and first since December 22). More about that in a bit.

With that, I now present,

~Running Tales: 2010 Summary Edition~

Great. In a word, I feel great about the miles I covered in 2010. The stats on December aren’t real impressive (see below), but 2010 was still my most consistent year of running to date.

December 2010

– 39.4 miles run

– 203 miles total on my New Balance 758’s

I also ran through a fair amount of snow in November and December, so that’s got to count for something extra, right? 😀

The real number you’re maybe waiting for is 734.77, as that’s the number of miles I ran in 2010. I know not every run is recorded at exactly accurate distance, but close enough. Last January I had a rough idea that 800 would be a good total to aim for. I’m close to that goal, and I think the lacking miles were mostly time off for sore or injured body parts. Yay for 735 miles.

In other 2010 running news, I ran 4 races this year. It may not sound like much, but it was just enough to keep me motivated and see progress. I’m mainly just listing these for my own reference, so feel free to skim through if you find race details a bit boring.

In April, the Earth Day Half Marathon in 2:12, a PR.

In June, the Family Fun Run 5K in 26:38, a PR.

In July, the most sweltering 10K ever in 59:17. The only 10k road race I’ve done, so a PR (that needs to be crushed :-))

In October, my final race of the year. A 5K in 25:42, a PR.

I think the PR trends means a few different things. First, that I haven’t been running consistently long enough to realize my potential at all. Second, that I am running consistently enough to improve – which is fun! I guess it also shows that I don’t race very much so I have time to get better in between events. I hope this little trend continues indefinitely.

And today on January 3rd, I was quite happy to put my running shoes back on and cover 3 snowy miles. My legs felt fresh, my neck mostly felt fine, and I think it’s going to be a great year. I’m very thankful to God, I think more than ever before, that I am able to run.

For all my fellow runners who think some new gear would be just perfect to start off the new year, check out this fabulous running giveaway from JerBear Shares. And with that,  I wish you all a great night. Stay tuned for a cow related post a bit later this evening.

What was your favorite race of 2010?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running Through 2010

  1. shelby says:

    Congrats on a solid year! May 2011 be even better!

    My favorite race of 2010 was a random weeknight track meet that I participated in over the summer. I had forgotten how much I love short distances! 😉

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Hmm, favorite race of 2010. That is a tough question. I think the race where I felt the best was the Jingle Bell Run that I just did on Dec 5th. I felt really strong for that race. I also enjoyed the 10k that I just did, even thought it was pretty cold and in the rain. The fact that I managed a 53min race and had to run over a huge causeway twice says something about my strength, or at least I felt a little bad ass after that race!

    Hope you had a wonderful New Year!

  3. sweatykid says:

    What a great year! I bet you will see even more improvements in 2011 — those PRs will fall again guaranteed and it’s gonna be a blast. Gosh, favorite race of 2010… Probably both the 5K and the 8K I ran this fall because I felt like my fitness was really taking off and I had so much fun with the small racing fields.

Leave a Reply

