A New Creation

Greetings from Minnesota. The weather has cooled down, but the sky isn’t snowing… at the moment. It sounds like we’re in store for a stormy night, so I think we’ll be sticking close to home for New Year’s Eve.

I thought about re-hashing 2010 or talking about goals and accomplishments, but that seemed like it may take too much brain  power. I also thought about trying to do something appropriately cow-themed, like maybe talking about a calf born each month of 2010, but I don’t know if I have the pictures and logistical details to make it interesting. (I do promise to report on our New Year’s Baby – aka 1st calf of 2011 – so stay tuned :-))

Instead, I think I just need to post something simple today.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. 1 Corinthians 5:17

“A new creation” – what a concept! With the miracle of Christmas came Christ, and the Christ child fulfilled the old testament prophesies of a saviour who would save his people from their sins.

Being saved means that we are new and renewed through Christ, and the new year is a great time to embrace and celebrate that.

To be blunt and honest, I’m not feeling particularly renewed today as I deal with insurance  headaches and car shopping. (Yes, the insurance company informed me that my car is a “total loss” and so I need to get something new – pronto.)

I digress. Even though I may not be feeling renewed today, it doesn’t matter. I am still a new creation in Christ, and I am saved by grace. This, my friends, is what I believe Christmas is all about. And just because Christmas is being packed up and sold at a discount in the retail world, that doesn’t mean we should pack away its meaning until sometime next fall.

We can embrace that promise of renewal on January 1, 2011 and on each and every day of our lives.

I wish all of you a joyful, blessed, and safe new year celebration. Thanks for following along with me during 2010 as I started blogging, and I hope you will continue as the new year begins.

Happy 2011!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Creation

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Great post!

    Sorry about your car! That stinks, and what a pain in the butt! I hope you can find a new car quickly! Good Luck

Leave a Reply

