Why is it raining?

Greetings from rainy Minnesota. Why is it raining, I ask you? It’s late December, and the temperature really shouldn’t be over 32. (or the sky shouldn’t have the nerve to be precipitating if it happens to be over 32 ;-))

Picture this…

Step 1) You dump a giant bucket of water over Minnesota  and the several feet of snow piled up, while keeping the temperature about 33 degrees.

Step 2) People walk and drive around through the water and rain; the rain mixes with snow.

Step 3) You cool the temperature down to the mid-20’s and dump some snow on top.

Step 4) You brace yourself for what happens when slush and ice get covered by fresh snow.

Rain drops through the window

What can I say? At least it’s not 20 below! We haven’t actually started getting snow yet, but it’s forecasted to cool down. If it keeps raining and cools down it will turn to snow.

Slick driveway at the farm

Calf chores were interesting tonight because rain gear was needed instead of lots of warm layers. The calves stay in their hutches most of the time when it rains, but they still eagerly come out to drink their bottles and eat grain.

It is easier for them to stay warm with dry hair, but their hair also seems to be pretty good at repelling water. It kind of “fluffs up” and helps keep their skin from getting soaked. This is especially true if it’s a lighter rain. 

The weather didn’t keep Wellington inside. Instead the warmer air made him happy to frolic around in the wet outdoor world. He did want to dry off and take a nap afterward 🙂

  

  

  

  

Running Tales

Not much to report here. I’m still nursing my sore neck but feeling better every day. Thank you all so much for your kind comments about my accident. I do thank God that things turned out as well as they did. I know He was watching over me.

Yesterday I headed to the gym for some leg weights and stretching. It was just a light workout but felt good. Hopefully once 2011 rolls around I’ll be ready to lace up my running shoes. I do promise to follow the magic rule and listen to my body so I don’t over do it.

Time for a typical question here on Cow Spots and Tales…

What’s the weather doing where you are?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, This and That, Wellington and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why is it raining?

  1. sweatykid says:

    I’m in New Hampshire for the holidays, and it’s colder here than it was where I live in Alaska… coastal rainforest and all. Glad you are healing up — car accidents can really knock things around — holidays are a nice time to give the legs some rest anyway!

  2. Its raining…and slushy…and gross.
    I almost prefer 22 inches of snow. It just feels so cold out because it is so damp, even though it is 36 degrees!

    I tried to go for a run today but everything was glare ice…with just enough water on top to make it deadly. I settled for a walk and even came close to death then!

  3. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Glad you are feeling better! Sounds like your weather really sucks. I almost feel a little teeny bit guilty saying that our is beautiful today. It’s in the 70’s. I think that when you are from up North you probably enjoy having a white Christmas, and a cold New Years, so maybe you feel sorry for me because my weather is to hot. It’s perfect for me. I’m sporting tank top, shorts & flip flops today!

    Happy New Year Lisa!

    • Lisa says:

      Happy New Year to you as well. I think your weather sounds great; you live in FL so you should have warm weather 🙂 We do expect the cold, but that doesn’t mean we always like it. I do admit to always wanting a white Christmas though!

  4. Pingback: Rainy December Day… « Run-around-aroo

Leave a Reply

