Ice Packs, Ibuprofen, and Car Shopping

Greetings from Minnesota. It’s a beautiful 25 degrees and sunny today – just perfect for late December. 🙂

 Hope you all had a nice Christmas and holiday weekend. It’s a bit late to do a full recap, but I will say that I was especially grateful for family this year. J and I spent Christmas Eve with my parents and sisters and then Christmas Day with his whole extended family. I really appreciated being together with everyone and enjoying the food, gifts and conversation of each celebration. The birth of Christ is certainly something to celebrate!

My parent's porch

From above - the tree!

 

Okay… I’m sure you’re wondering by now about the title of my post. I’ll make a long story short.

On Thursday evening I was traveling home from work, and it was snowing pretty hard outside. A vehicle from a side road slid through their stop sign into the highway ahead of me, and I wasn’t able to stop in time. Crash.
 
I actually hit the trailer the vehicle was pulling, so the other driver was thankfully unharmed and I just had an immediate bloody nose and shaken nerves.
 
I still don’t know for sure whether my car is totaled, but it didn’t look good when it got towed from the scene. We’ve started browsing for new vehicles in case, and there are just endless choices.
 
I know I was blessed to not be badly hurt.  Per my doctor I have some strained neck muscles and just need to keep taking ibuprofen, ice sore areas, and “baby” my neck and upper shoulder area as much as possible.
 
This means no heavy lifting, and I have to be careful when I’m doing chores outside.
So I waddle around carrying 1/2 full buckets and feel silly, but things are already improving so I hope to be 100% soon. I honestly never think much about all the lifting I do at the farm, but this makes me realize how much it is (and appreciate the fact that I can normally do it with no problem!)
 
An unfortunate effect of my neck being sore and stiff is that I’m not supposed to do anything “jarring.” I asked my doctor about running, and she said that walking is fine. Running is not. 😦 My last run was December 22, and it doesn’t look like I’ll accumulate many more miles in 2011.
 
I suppose a week or so of rest isn’t too bad in the scheme of things, especially if I feel back to normal soon.
 
Have a good night everyone, and travel safe!
 
I’m going to avoid asking specific questions about accidents or injuries because it just seems too dreary. But feel free to share your stories about car trouble, mishaps that kept you from running, or other related topics.
 
Also, if you have a vehicle you love please recommend it!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ice Packs, Ibuprofen, and Car Shopping

  1. First and foremost…glad you survived the crash with minor injuries! Baby that neck girl!

    Second, I highly recommend NOT getting a plastic Saturn. I loved my first one (SL2) but hate my second one (Ion). That is all I have on the car front, I am not looking forward to my next car search.

    Third…I’m really good at coming up with excuses that involve skipping runs, although I haven’t used car issues yet. Although I probably could have – I’ve totaled three cars in my day, two were upside down in the ditch, all were before I turned 18. But I swear I’ve become a better driver…I swear!

  2. sweatykid says:

    Oh my goodness. So glad to hear you’re okay! Car accidents are so, so scary. That must have been terrifying. Sending happy thoughts your way for a speedy recovery — hope you’ll be back to running/your usual active routine soon!

  3. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Aw Lisa, I’m sorry to hear you were in a car accident =( I’m so glad that you are okay though!

    Sorry to hear you are unable to run right now, but you will be back at it soon. Keep icing, and resting. You’ll only regret it later if you push it now.

    As far as cars go; We are also looking for a new car. There is nothing wrong w/ mine except that it’s just to small. Chris hates it. He says he worries constantly. We are looking at Toyota 4runners mostly. I’ve loved 4-runners since I Was 16. My first vehicle was a 4runner, and it had an untimely death. Something about a rollover accident, and a helicopter ride to the trauma center. Obviously I’m fine.

    I’ve always wanted another 4-runner. Hopefully after the New Year {which is like 3 days away, that seems so weird} we will start really looking at new vehicles.

    Again, I’m really glad you are okay!

  4. shelby says:

    OMG. How scary, I’m glad that you are (mostly) okay! Yikes!

    My H and I share a 2003 4Runner Sport and I think it’s pretty fantastic. We live in the south now, but we had it through a winter in NE Ohio and two winters in Boston, and it handled great on icy/snowy city streets and ski trips to Vermont and Maine. The gas mileage is a little rough, but we drive so rarely (he walks to work and I work from home) that it’s not a big deal to us. Anyway, it’s a good, heavy car that handles well for its weight. We love it.

    Seriously, take care of yourself and heal up! No hurry to return to running. Ok?

  5. Jess says:

    Thank God you weren’t badly injured! Unfortunately this beautiful weather means roads have been slick. I know it’s no fun to slow down while you’re healing, but be kind to yourself and rest, okay!?

  6. Pingback: Ahh-Mazing « Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

