Sights of the Winter – It Can Be Beautiful

Greetings from 20 degree Minnesota. The temps have warmed and the sky is clear for the moment, but the weather people say more snow is coming on Thursday. Maybe this super snowy December means a dry January? I sure hope so.

This last Sunday we had a light dusting of snow and a hazy sky that morphed into a brilliant blue by mid-morning. It was just a beautiful winter day. I snapped quite a few pictures as I went about my work, and I’m finally getting around to sharing them. I think a few captions should do the trick for verbage, and I’ll try to let you have an uninterrupted tour 🙂

Bright-eyed first thing in the morning!

"But I don't wanna come out!"

Looking West

She's Ready for Anything!

Winter Morning Haze

Moms-to-be need naps!

The TMR Mixer's Morning Route

On her way back from the milking parlor

 

Wellington Tracks

 

...and Wellington himself

Covered in Snow

 

The Minnesota Countryside

 

God's Beautiful Creation

 

And that’s an abbreviated look at some of the sights and sounds of the farm on a winter morning. (I guess you’ll have to imagine the sounds 😉 ). In case the big TMR Mixer wagon picture is a bit confusing, you can read more about how we use it to feed our cows on this post.

Running Tales

I hate to blemish my lovely picture post with a ton of words, but I can’t resist a quick update on my noon run. It was completely yucky outside because a coating of ice was covering yesterday’s fresh snow. I didn’t really want to chance doing the splits in my running shoes – or worse –  so I headed for my first substantial treadmill run in over 2 weeks.

All went well, and I covered about 4.1 miles in 39 minutes. Not particularly speedy, but it was good. Hopefully I’ll get outside sometime this week in between snow storms!

What’s your favorite season? Do you have a real winter where you live?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sights of the Winter – It Can Be Beautiful

  1. meyerdairy says:

    Great pictures! Love the one with the trees!

  2. Aww…it looks like home! Love the photos, especially that last one. Beautiful!

  3. Bree says:

    Great pictures!

    I was mislead by the weather on yesterday’s run, too. It was slloooowwww because of the snow/ice.

  4. sweatykid says:

    Ice on top of snow really makes things interesting, running-wise. Interesting as in, what TV show should I watch while I run on the treadmill instead? Hahahaha. I like how Wellington is camouflaged for the winter landscape…

  5. Jena says:

    Aww, I love this post, I love all the pictures. They are quite beautiful, but I will admit, I am NOT jealous at all.

    Our weather today is awesome. It started out in the 40’s i believe, and I think it’s around 72 right now.

    Well, I suppose we do not have a “real” winter, although, it is very “real” to those of us who are not prepared for this cold.

    Fun Fact: This December has been the coldest in our county on the records. I don’t know how far back the records go, but on the news the other night they were saying that this month is the coldest it’s ever been this early in the “winter.” .. I knew it felt colder than normal!

    Merry Christmas Lisa, I hope you and Justin have a wonderful Christmas!

  6. Brittany says:

    I love the last picture! I think I would love to live somewhere with snow like that, you would prob say I am crazy!

  7. Lisa says:

    Thanks for all the nice comments on the pictures ! As for Wellington, he certainly is in full camo in the snow 🙂

  8. Pingback: Sights of the Farm | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

