Fun Facts: You never knew you didn’t know…

Greetings from snowy Minnesota. It seems like Minnesota is snowy a lot lately. We’re getting at least our 3rd (if not 4th) fairly sizeable snow storm of December, and I’m losing track of how many feet we’re gotten so far this winter. More snow than normal for sure.

As I’ve complained about said before, lots of snow makes things at the farm slow going. At least I can be grateful we have several skid loaders and a big snow blower for the tractor. Usually we don’t bring out these machines until the snow has stopped, so trudging through snow drifts was the name of the game tonight. My brain is honestly a little fried from the mesmerizing snowflakes. It’s a good thing I got tagged by Shelby at eat,drink,run. All I have to do is answer the questions below. Here goes nothin’.

1. Vacation: beach or mountains? I say mountains. I’m not really the dare-devil mountain climbing type , but my husband and I definitely enjoy being active. I also loved my little trek to the Swiss Alps while in college. I’m too accident prone to ski very well, but I sure liked these little plastic saucers…

(I’m in pink, and it was amazingly warm in this picture considering all the snow.) Final case in point: a vacation away is a precious commodity for dairy farmers. We just don’t get away on extended trips that often, so when we do, we want to see things that are way different from Minnesota. But, nothing against the beach, especially if it’s in a historical locale. If a historical vacation was an option I may have to pick that, as we are both history nerds πŸ™‚
My final answer: Vacation? Yes, please!

2. Luggage: check it or carry it on? I almost always check it because I have a problem with packing light. The last time I flew on my own dime I’m pretty sure they still didn’t charge for checked bags, so next time I’ll be trying to squish everything into a carry-on I’m sure!

3. Bed: make it or leave it a rumpled comfy mess? A rumpled mess – I have more important things to do.

4. Races: smaller or bigger? By virtue of living in rural Minnesota I’m usually running smaller races. They’re great because you don’t get bottle-necked at the start, and I can sometimes win an AG award πŸ™‚ I usually can’t spend a full day on a race, so a short commute is important too. I would say small races are my preference by necessity. I consider the two 1/2’s I have done to be “bigger” races, but they were only several thousand people. I think this technically makes them a mid-size race at best?

Someone want to plan and pay for my trip to a true BIG race so I can see what my preference really is??

5. Toilet paper roll: over or under? Ah, I honestly don’t care about this one. I just don’t notice.

6. Pancakes: thick and fluffy or thin and crepe-like? Either. Just as long as I’ve got syrup and REAL butter to slather on them. Pancakes = Yum!

7. Alarm: get up or hit snooze? I have the terrible habit of hitting snooze multiple times. While in college, I think I drove some of my poor roommates to the brink of insanity because I usually don’t hear my alarm for several minutes. I also have the annoying habit of hitting snooze in my sleep, so it can be snoozed many times before I even realize I’m doing it. I’m trying to get better about this…

And now you know a whole bunch of fun facts you didn’t even know you were dying to know. My own 7 questions go like this.

  1. Best book you’ve ever read and best book you’ve read recently?
  2. If you could be any animal, what would you be and why?
  3. Favorite race distance? Care to elaborate?
  4. What’s a favorite bible verse, quote or thought that encourages you? 
  5. White milk or chocolate milk?
  6. What 5 places are on your “must visit” list? (If you’ve already been to some of them you can still include if you like). 
  7. What’s your go-to brand of shoes? I’m thinking running shoes here, but a girl needs classy dress shoes too, so share both.
  8.   

And I’m tagging:

Bree, Jena, Lauren, Heidi, Cassie, Angela, Brit, anybody who wants to join in!

I know that some of you aren’t runners, so feel free to write about
whatever you want for # 3, or skip it all together. Brit, I know you’re currently fulfilling some of your answers to #6, so you’re off the hook on responding πŸ™‚

Running Tales

I’ll leave you with a recap of my Saturday run. It was a nice winter day, and I’m glad I made it outside because the snow kept me from fitting in a run at all today. There was a fairly nice stretch of non-snowy road toward the end of my out and back route, and I managed to plod along a little faster.

Share a fun fact about yourself.

What do you have left on your Christmas “to-do” list?

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, This and That. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fun Facts: You never knew you didn’t know…

  1. shelby says:

    Yay – thanks for playing!

    I am jealous of your trip to the Alps – that part of the world is definitely on my to-do list.

    And I think several thousand people definitely qualifies as a big race! Maybe not a mega-race, but big enough! πŸ™‚

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for tagging! I suppose you’re right about several thousand being big, but it seems like I always end up running by myself in these races anyhow. I can see packs ahead of and behind me when I’m on the out and back, but I somehow find the lonely spots. True small is the race in my town I suppose – less than 50 people for the fall race.

  2. sweatykid says:

    Chocolate milk all the way! Those saucers look so fun. I’m accident prone when it comes to skiing, too. Come to think of it, I don’t know if I’ve ever done a “bigger” race either… small races are a blast.

    • Lisa says:

      Glad I’m not the only accident-prone runner out there πŸ˜‰ I would have tagged you on this, but I’m pretty sure you were tagged by AR or Shelby, and I didn’t think it fair to hit you up with too many questions!

  3. So jealous of your trip to the Alps. I was supposed to go over one of my breaks as a Soph, but it got cancelled. I was so bummed out!

    I love the fact you opted for plastic saucers…too funny!

    And thanks for the tag, I’ll be repling shortly! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: MORE about me… « Run-around-aroo

  5. Pingback: Let’s Talk About Me « Duke's House

Leave a Reply

