An Ode to My Bogs

Greetings from snowy Minnesota. We got another 6 inches of snow last night – enough said.

One thing I’ve learned through my years on a farm is that winter clothing is not something to skimp on. Now, I’m a typical girl who loves a good sale, and I try not to buy pricey dress clothes or shoes without a discount involved 🙂 I can also get by with less than a name brand purse, but warm winter gear is a different story.

If I’m freezing when I’m doing calf chores I find that I’m less productive, I need warm-up breaks, and the sad truth is that I get really whiny in a hurry (and nobody likes that). So, I try to make sure I have thick, well-insulated coveralls, clothes and boots.

Two-years ago at Christmas my darling husband gifted me my all-time favorite pair of boots. With a classy name like “Bogs” they have to be good, right? My Bogs have seen me through the early freezes of fall, the deep snow of winter, and the cool, muddy days of spring. Usually one pair of socks is all that’s needed to keep my feet warm, and they’re equally comfortable in temps from well below zero to around 40 degrees.

So you’re probably wondering where the ode part of this post is by now, right?

Well, I looked up ode, and I determined that writing one is a bit more complicated than I thought. (I purposely stayed away from a limerick or haiku because I knew those had definite guidelines.) Thanks to the magic of eHow, I now know that a traditional ode has a fair amount of rules too. So, here it goes… Keep in mind that the rhyme scheme is supposed to be ababcdecde (with corresponding letters meaning the words at the end of those lines should rhyme).

For the farmers, the fishers and all who work in the cold;

a boot is needed that will stand up to the worst weather.

For the storms that winter dishes out are something to behold,

and these Bogs boots won’t let you down – no never!

Whether feedings calves or shoveling snow off the stoop,

I don’t hesitate to give thanks for the neoprene goodness on my feet.

Because nothing is as miserable as cold, frozen toes.

And the fun floral design really makes me love this boot.

It’s a lucky girl with a husband who’s pretty neat

that gets a pair of Bogs to wear wherever she goes!

Whew, I think one 10-line stanza is plenty for me. While the rhythm isn’t exactly right, I’m pretty sure I got the rhyme scheme correct at least! Of course this post wouldn’t be complete without a picture of my trusty barn boots, so here they are.

It’s official, these are good boots. On a somewhat related note, I want to share some fabulous gear I happened across the other day in blog-land. If you’re an athlete, or just like to wear cool socks and sunglasses, check out the Ultimate Stocking Stuffer Giveaway on Endurance Isn’t Only Physical

What apparel item do you really love?

Is the item in question an old stand-by, a gift you received, or something you happened upon by pure luck?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Ode to My Bogs

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Sweet boots! I wish I had a need for great boots.
    Are those carhartt coveralls? I ordered some for Chris for Christmas, shhh. He doesn’t know. He said one of the guys he works w/ had them on one of the days that it was pretty cold last week. Now he is on this “I neeeeeed some” kick. He tells me every chance he gets that he needs some.

  2. I remember how useful those kind of boots were – I never had Bogs and we called them “sh*tkickers”. 🙂

    Most useful apparel item at the moment…my “Get Lucky 7K” hoodie that I got for running the Team Ortho Get Lucky 7K this March. Very handy in this weather!

  3. Cassie says:

    very cute ode! Very nice boots!

  4. sweatykid says:

    I have Bogs too, and love them! The local rubber boot option was between Bogs or Xtratufs, and I went with the Bogs because they are wayyyy more comfortable AND insulated. Totally worth the investment!

Leave a Reply

