“It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas”

Greetings from Minnesota. Yesterday morning when I quickly dashed into my car this is the temperature that greeted me.

So today when my car showed -1 degree, I figured it wasn’t that bad! The snow of the past weekend has moved past us, but now we’re experiencing the deep-freeze temperatures below zero we usually don’t get until sometime in January.

I’m not a huge fan of tons of snow because it makes outdoor work so difficult. But… when things start getting covered in white I find it impossible not to hear “It’s Beginning to Look a lot Like Christmas” (the Dean Martin version) playing in my head.

We continue to deal with the aftermath of this last weekend’s blizzard at the farm. We’ve moved a lot of our older calves out of hutches into grouped pens and are keeping the new babies indoors for their first weeks, so we thankfully have less calves in hutches than normal. For the hutches we do have, snow itself is proving to be good insulation. When we were shoveling out the front and yards of these hutches, the wind was blowing hard from the Northeast. This meant snow had to be shoveled and tossed back behind the hutch because tossing it forward just meant it blew back in your face – not fun 😦 After we finished shoveling, there was a lot of snow built up!

This may look a bit funky from the back, but all this snow is actually okay because it helps insulate from the cold. Our calves are doing well, and the wind has been fairly calm the last few days which helps too. At our poorly insulated house we use this same trick of snow insulation and shovel extra snow up all around the foundation to try to block drafts.

Just to balance out this post with something a little Christmas-y, here’s our house last weekend. Which means BEFORE we got 8 inches of snow a few days ago!

Running Tales

Even with the snow and cold, I have an outdoor run to report on. Monday at noon I donned 3 top layers and 2 pants layers to get out for a few miles. It was actually fairly pleasant with almost no wind, the sun shining and only a few degrees below zero. I was able to avoid most icy patches, but it took me a little while to acclimate to running on the thick layer of snow. My pace got better as I got more confident with my footing. I’m  happy to report that my calf felt fine the whole run, so I think my injury paranoia last week either paid off or was unfounded. Either way, I’m happy I didn’t even feel any worrisome twinges.

Hope that wherever you are, it’s also starting to look and feel like Christmas! What is your favorite Christmas song or carol? Contrary to the title of this post, mine is a toss up between “Oh Come All Ye Faithful” and “Oh Holy Night”

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas”

  1. sweatykid says:

    Hooray for no twinges; glad to hear you got out there! Smart about the snow/insulation trick. Right now my nature education-based job is focusing a lot on local mammal survival strategies through the winter — using snow as an insulator is a big one — the kids love it because it means they get to build snow caves when we head outside. 🙂 And sub-zero temps already for you guys? Sheeeeesh. You are tough.

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks – I’m happy my leg seems to be back to normal. Hope your foot is feeling better. Are you sticking to cross training and easing up on the miles? Mammal survival strategies sounds like a cool thing to teach kids about 🙂 I’m glad you don’t think I’m crazy when I say snow is an insulator…some people I know seem to totally disbelieve this.

  2. lauren says:

    MINUS 11!!!!! I almost froze when it was 10 degrees here yesterday! And we received about a 1/4 inch of ice overnight! 🙂

    Kudos to you!

  3. Brit says:

    I’m impressed that you ran outside in that temperature. I’m a big baby. I don’t think I would have made it for 30+ minutes. Glad to hear that your calf is feeling better!

    • Lisa says:

      I think I would be hitting up the treadmill more, but I’m freaked out and avoiding it until absolutely necessary since it sent my calf all out of whack. Normally I don’t mind the ‘mill too much, and I know I need to get back on it at least to do some speed work.

  4. Bree says:

    You inspire me to suck it up and get out there. Today might be the day! The only thing I worry about is my feet. I don’t have any fancy winter running socks yet.

    I loved to play Oh Holy Night on piano. For years I would sit down each Christmas and play it and as each year went on, I lost a little more of my skills. That’s what happens when you only play once a year. I might have to try it again this year 🙂

    • Lisa says:

      I layer pretty thick clothes on when it’s cold, but strangely enough I just prefer one pair of normal running socks. My feet warm up quickly, and I haven’t had any problems with cold toes yet. (knock on wood!) I do have Superfeet insoles in my shoes, so not sure if that makes a difference. I also love to play piano and I don’t do it enough. This reminds me to sit down sometime and play through some Christmas carols.

Leave a Reply

