Facing Myself in December

Greetings from Minnesota, where today a blizzard raged. We got snow of course, but we also got an intense wind from the north. (Thanks, but no thanks Canada.)

On Friday the weather was the ” calm before the storm” so we spent a long night getting empty calf hutches moved and trying our best to create more of a wind break for the occupied hutches. I also snapped a few self-portraits, which I’ll share shortly.

Beyond normal tasks, today was consumed by moving snow. My husband and his dad worked to plow out the driveway and farmyard, which seems to need re-doing every few hours because of the wind. An employee and myself shoveled around the front and yard of hutches that got drifted in this afternoon, and I’m certain it will need to be done again tomorrow. I’ll confess, my body is sore. (Idid manage a quick cat-nap before evening chores, which was amazing.)

Ok, I’ll get to my self portraits for December and commence with facing myself. I should probably warn you these are some grainy pictures. I have enough difficulty snapping a picture of myself in warmth and daylight. Freezing weather and a dark sky don’t exactly make things easier!

I decided this was a good month to portray myself as I am most evenings. Even though I talk a lot about cows, calves, and farming, I realize I don’t actually share many pictures of me at the farm. It’s hard to find time or remember to take them, so try to appreciate these 🙂

I actually do wear a fleece neck-warmer,  bulky coveralls and many layers under my jacket. While last month I had a “business casual” look going on, this month I am the polar opposite.  In the interest of variety, I’ll share a picture that didn’t get centered so well.

Even though the first picture isn’t that swell, this mal-formed (but unique shot) may give you an idea that it took a few attempts to get that first one. Also, here is my shadow. I don’t mean the bulldog that follows me around, I mean my actual shadow…

Now introducing, “Lisa: The Snow-Woman.” Seriously though, look how bulky I am. I wonder how many pounds of clothes I am actually wearing when it gets chilly like this? The amazing thing is I am usually warm and sometimes even overheated once I get moving. Dressing in layers definitely works wonders.

Another thing on my thankful list is proper clothes that allow me to brave the elements. I’ve been trying to think and feel more thankful over this past month, which isn’t always easy. Obviously the things I’m thankful for don’t change much, but it’s my own mindset and attitude that make the difference.

Like happiness, I think that sometimes you just have to make a decision to be thankful. No matter how you’re feeling. I’m able to do and be better in everything if I approach it with thanks. This verse is also a go-to for me on this topic.

 Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

As always, thanks to Jess at the Old Nichols Farm for this challenge!

Facing Myself

Running Tales

I haven’t shared any running related updates for a while, so here’s a little recap. After my calf started throbbing on Monday, I did some intensive RICE (rest, ice, compression, elevation). I maybe wasn’t diligent with the elevation part, but I iced multiple times per day when I could, I wore my compression sleeves, and I took Tuesday AND Wednesday off.

The days off worked fine because I had some travel commitments for my job that would have made it hard to fit in a run anyway. Thursday, I avoided the treadmill and opted for 3 easy miles outside. When I say easy, I mean almost 10:30 pace. It was a nice 20-degree day, and I felt good other than a little  soreness throughout mile 2. Friday I did some weights at the gym, and today my legs seemed fine while trudging through the snow and shoveling. I think things are back to normal, other than a bit of residual calf soreness mid-run.

It’s odd – I start out fine, then the soreness sets in, and once I’m fully warmed up it goes away again. Any ideas about why this is happening? I think I just need to keep the pace easy until everything feels 100%, but I’m so bad at evaluating possible injuries and deciding when I’m back to “normal.” What is normal anyhow?

Any crazy winter weather where you are, or are we just lucky in Minnesota?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Facing Myself Adventure, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Facing Myself in December

  1. Ooooh, the joy of farming during a snow storm! Let’s just say I’m not missing the farm too much right now! We have chest deep drifts here in WI…up to the top of my car…it sure is pretty though! 😉

    And I know the feeling of wearing so many layers just to go outside and work…then sweat yourself silly!

  2. Teri says:

    Thanks for the reminder to be grateful, Lisa. This is something that runs in spurts for me. The last two days have been a big ole pity party. I needed that. 🙂

  3. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I will not tell you that it as in the 60’s this morning when we left for church. It rained while we were in church and it’s dropping as the day wears on. I think the low tonight is 29, which probably sounds like heaven to you. 🙂

  4. Brit says:

    Great pictures! It was extremely chilly here this morning, I wanted to be bundled up like that! Unfortunately it was a cold business casual for me today!

  5. Jess says:

    I really like that off-centered shot, it gives such a sense of the cold and darkness that descends so early in the day this time of year. It just feels like winter.

    Stay warm!

  6. shelby says:

    But did you realize that you had to pee once you got all of those layers on? 🙂

    It’s…not that cold here. I think it was in the 20s this morning. But for the South that’s pretty cold so people are freaking out about it. I, for one, am looking forward to my run in crisp, sunny cold today! At least we don’t have snow!

Leave a Reply

