A Royal Pain in the Calf

Greetings from 12 degree Minnesota, where the snow flurries continue on and off. Ah, winter.

So I guess I’ll get straight to the point and talk about my post title. Now normally when I talk about a calf here on CSAT- I mean the baby cow variety. Well tonight, my left calf muscle is the calf I’m referencing. Why is it a royal pain? Well, here’s my exercise overview of the past 2 days.

Saturday, I never made it out for a run. The snow was deep and falling all day, and we got to the farm early afternoon because J had a project that needed doing. My in-laws have an elliptical in their basement at the farm, and somehow I spent over an hour on that thing and put in over 7 miles. I don’t count it as miles in my running log, but still an impressive effort. Felt fine afterward.

Sunday – just farm stuff – a rest day from running.

Monday morning – Since I missed any sort of long run this weekend, I headed for the gym and the treadmill. 7.25 miles at an average pace of 9:41. This was a monumental treadmill run to be sure, as my normal patience for the machine maxes out at about 4 miles.

Well, my legs felt rather sluggish the whole run, so it didn’t seem like a huge deal when my left calf got a little sore and achy around mile 6. I stretched out after the run and later put on compression sleeves.

Still, I have this dull, uncomfortable ache that persisted through farm chores and feels about the same this evening.

First, I know this isn’t a huge deal. It’s not major pain, and I know I could have much worse troubles. BUT – I’m always worried about little pains turning into bigger problems (sadly I have experience with that :()

I’ll take a day or two off running, and I figure that ice is in order. Is that the right course of action for a particularly achy muscle? Anyone else ever have random calf muscle pain and soreness that set in mid- run?

Sorry for this little whine fest. On a happier note, I will end my cheese giveaway tomorrow evening, let’s say 11:59 pm CST just to be fully fair. Comment on that post if you haven’t yet, and then watch for the winner to be named on Wednesday! Have a good night all.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Royal Pain in the Calf

  1. sweatykid says:

    When I run for longer than I’m used to on the treadmill, I sometimes get random lower leg aches and cramps… normally in my shin/ankle area. Hopefully it’s just your calf muscle saying, “hey! I’m not used to this! Ouch!” and a few days of ice and rest’ll do the trick. My running economy/biomechanics are definitely altered a bit on the treadmill, so I’d guess that’s why the random pains pop up when I do a longish run on one. Hope it clears up — you are smart to listen to it.

  2. I’ve had some issues with my calf muscle getting sore and then having a bit of a knot in it. I don’t know what causes it, but I use a rolling pin to “roll” out the knot and that helps. Hopefully The Stick gets checked off my Christmas list so I can stop sterilizing my rolling pin between use on my legs and making sugar cookies… 😉

  3. Brit says:

    I get weird feelings in my legs sometimes when switching from primarily outdoor running to treadmill and vice versa. Hopefully it is just your body telling you that it is not used to that type of activity and it will be fine in a few days.

    Good job sticking with the treadmill for so long! I had a record short run of 2 miles yesterday. I just couldn’t wrap my mind around staying on the treadmill for any longer.

Leave a Reply

