Chicken, Bacon, Mushroom Goodness

Greetings from 9 degree Minnesota! I’m guessing it’s about 9 degrees now, but it’s hard to know how accurate the thermometer outside our house is.

I haven’t posted a recipe in a long time, and last night’s supper was so tasty I just knew it had to find its way onto my blog.  For those of you who’ve read my past recipes, you’ll be surprised to learn that this one doesn’t even contain beef! (Because we raise our own steers, we tend to eat a lot of that delicious stuff referred to as red meat…) This meal is also cool because it uses some of the giant mushroom we found in our yard this fall.

To give credit where due, my husband really made up this recipe and did most of the cooking. I just did some chopping, kitchen-cleaning, and tasting. 😀 If you want to make your very own tasty sandwich, loosely follow these instructions. 

  •  2-3 pounds boneless chicken breast or thighs (we used breasts and sliced them in strips)
  • 1/2 pound (or so) bacon
  • 1 medium onion, chopped or cut in rings
  • fresh or frozen mushrooms, we used about 16 oz . of maitake
  • butter or olive oil
  • fresh ground pepper
  • thinly sliced pepperjack cheese
  • sliced tomato
  • mayo and/or pesto
  • sandwich rolls or thick-sliced bread

Saute the mushrooms and onion in butter or your oil of choice. Add the chicken and cook until done. Season with pepper and other herbs as you like. You can cook the bacon along with this mixture, or you can fry your bacon up separately if you like it crisper. Keep the meat mixture hot while you get ready to assemble your sandwiches.

Spread your sandwich rolls with mayo and/or pesto. Fill with meat mixture and top with cheese and tomato. Yield: 6-10 sandwiches, depending on how much chicken and bacon you use.

There’s something else brewing in the CSAT household (doesn’t CSAT sound like an entrance exam? Gosh it probably is). Currently, I’m working on my very first Christmas letter. Yup, I’m doing what your Aunt Beatrice and your Grandma Edna do and writing a Christmas letter. Here’s a small look.

I promise I didn’t include endless paragraphs about how cool and exciting we are or how depressing this year has been. Both extremes of letter drive me a bit batty, even if they can be funny. Instead, I tried to be somewhat amusing and provide a fun overview on ourselves and our families. We’ll see what kind of feedback I get on my Christmas newsletter.

Well, I think it’s time to start in on the never-ending pile of laundry and think about going for a run. Have a happy weekend. Make sure to check out my Cheese Giveaway if you haven’t already. It ends December 7.

Are you sending out a card, letter, or photo this year?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken, Bacon, Mushroom Goodness

  1. Jess says:

    Mmmm… that looks great for cold day. I’m going to have to remember this. Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

