The Dark, The Cold

Greetings from Minnesota. It was sunny about 15 today – not bad!

So why, you ask, am I calling my post something ominous like “The Dark, The Cold” this evening?

Well, I guess it’s because when I feed calves in the evening, I notice how dark and cold it is. If I haven’t dressed right I am either freezing or sweating. Yup, it’s entirely possible to be sweating when it’s 10 degrees out if you have on too many layers and start moving around quickly.

Certainly not all farm activities involve being outside, but feeding the hutch calves does mean embracing the great outdoors. We have less calves outside now because we’ve started moving some of the new ones into individual stalls inside the barn. More on these later once I get some pictures…

For now, I thought it might be fun for you to see what I see at night by the hutches. I get enough light from the gator (ATV) and the outdoor barn lights to feed the calves (and get a few discernible pictures).

The first picture, looking out across the bare field, gives me a “Little House on the Prairie feeling” – as though I’m all alone with my animals out on the prairie. Silly, right? Especially because when I look in any other direction I can see the lights of neighboring farms and houses.

Running Tales

Today I finally made it outside at noon for a run. I’ve done a few treadmill miles lately, but I haven’t been outside for over a week. The biggest problem is that most of the bike paths I run on don’t get cleared off during the winter. This means I have to wait until sidewalks and road shoulders are de-iced enough for my liking.

I try to get outside mid-day because it’s also a chance to soak up some sunshine (it’s dark when I leave in the morning and when I get home at night now). Because it was an outdoor run, I can also post some running stats.

People do look at me like I may be crazy when I’m running outside and it’s 15 degrees. Or maybe they look at me like I’m crazy because I look like a bug in my giant sunglasses? If you’re wondering what a person wears to run in the winter, I’ll show you.

I hardly ever wear sunglasses while running because they slip down my sweaty nose. It was just so bright outside with the sun reflecting off the snow. These are just $10 cheapo glasses so maybe that makes a difference?

Beyond that, I’ve got on some thicker tights with shorts, a base layer and jacket, hat and gloves. I wish I wouldn’t have forgotten my snowmobile neck warmer, but overall I was comfortable. In colder weather, I would have put a pair of pants over my tights, added a thicker top layer or two, and switched to mittens.

Well, I think that’s enough talk about winter. Care to share what your favorite warm weather running  or exercise outfit is?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Dark, The Cold

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    In colder weather you would wear more clothes? 15 degrees seems like a good enough reason to stay inside! Ay!

    The high today was 60 here, which is pleasant. It was 37 when I woke up, whoa. What’s stupid is that the high yesterday was in the 70s maybe low 80s.

    My normal warm weather outfit is shorts and short sleeve wicking tee, much like my winter attire =) Saturday I’m running a 5k and it’s supposed to be in the 40s, maybe 50’s at start time. So I get to wear some warm(er) clothes. I really don’t know exactly how to dress.

  2. sweatykid says:

    The past few days I’ve overshot with too many layers, and halfway through a long run I’ll sweat too much (and then get cold again if there’s too much wind). Guh! Definitely need a gaiter for these windy days — I’m really sensitive to my neck temperature — it seems to regulate my overall comfort while running in cold temps.

  3. Brit says:

    My warm weather running gear is usually just a sport bra (I like the Moving Comfort Alexis because it is like a WonderBra) and shorts (I only wear Mountain Hardwear Pacer Advance Shorts). It got pretty chilly here in the past few days, so I am relearning how to dress for cold runs. I am starting to get the hang of it, the big variable seems to be the wind. I’m sure you get a ton of wind in Minnesota like we do here. It is just so flat and bare here that wind whips right through!

    Interesting comment about your sunglasses, it made me feel less alone. I have decided that I look like a bug in my sunglasses also. One of the items on my to-do list this weekend is to find reasonable looking sunglasses. I seem to be wearing mine every time I get my picture taken for any reason and they look ridiculous on me. ::Need to stop chronic sunglass wearing!:: For the record, you look way more normal in yours than I do in mine!

Leave a Reply

