A Giveaway: Merry Christmas, with Cheese on Top?

Happy December 1st from Minnesota! We have fitting weather to usher in December, with a foot of snow on the ground and forecasted high temps in the teens for the next few days.

Ever since ever, I seem to consider December 1st the official start of the Christmas season. I know some people are chomping at the bit to put up lights, decorate trees and buy gifts right after Halloween or surely by Thanksgiving, while others put off all things Christmas until Dec 24th. Well, I prefer to be somewhere in the middle!

Once December comes, then I become one of “those” people who embrace Christmas full-scale. I set up my ceramic nativity in the living room tonight, and soon we’ll put up outdoor lights (tasteful, not tacky :)) and a real tree. I also love Christmas music, but try to monitor my usage  so I don’t drive my poor husband crazy. More often, I satisfy my need for Christmas cheer by burning a candle so my house smells like the season.

As I’ve started creating my list of gifts to be made and purchased, it occurred to me that a blog giveaway – my first –  might be just the thing to do. I appreciate you, my little flock of readers, and want you to know it.

 What better giveaway for a blog called “Cow Spots and Tales” than cheese? A gift box of Minnesota-made cheeses to be specific.

www.mycheesestore.com 

To one lucky reader, I will send the gift box of your choice (from the link above) up to a $20 value. Woo Hoo, right? This allows you to choose from most of the gift sets, and some even include a few extras like Knaus sausage (also made in Minnesota).

Are you ready for the rules?

Just leave a comment on this post telling me which gift box you’d like. You can also include info on how you would use the cheese and why you REALLY deserve it, but that won’t increase your chances of winning 🙂 Easy as pie – or cheese. I’ll randomly pick a winner on December 7 and announce it right here on my blog, so be sure to leave your comment by then.

And for the record, I’m conducting and paying for this giveaway on my own behalf. No one is giving me free stuff or donations to talk about cheese!

Running Tales

A rather uneventful month with no races and more treadmill miles, but I figure I still owe you the details of November.

Monthly Running Tales

  • 58.5 miles in November
  •  695.37 miles so far in 2010
  • 163.4 miles on my trusty New Balance shoes          

At the start of 2010, I had a goal – maybe more of a plan – to run about 800 miles this year. No specific reason for that number; I suppose it just sounded good. I’m not sure if I’ll make it, but I’ll be close…

Ok, now get commenting about which cheeses you want!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Running, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to A Giveaway: Merry Christmas, with Cheese on Top?

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Ooooo CHEESE!! We love cheese around here. Chris thinks cheese makes EVERYTHING better. If I were to win your cheese contest I would like the Country Combo, mmmmm!

  2. Cheese! You’re talking (writing?) to a cheese loving Wisconsinite here! Do I need to counter your MN cheese with some WI cheese? 😉

    If I won I would like the “Minnesota’s Favorite” because it has Summer Sausage and Bacon cheese…plus the standard necessity of cheddar!

  3. Oooh, Minnesota Cheese! I’m intrigued, I’m a Wisconsin girl so all we ever see around here is WI cheese. I’d have to go for the Party Pack gift box because of the magic words “hot pepper.”
    Fun blog – glad to have found it!

  4. Brie says:

    Yum! I would get the Deluxe Gift Box.

    Every Christmas Eve, after “Santa” comes, we sit around eating cheese, crackers, and summer sausage and gossiping about my cousin who never helps with the dishes. I would totally bring this to share!

  5. Jen says:

    If I won, I would want the “Minnesota’s Favorite” because it’s a great package. Bacon cheese? Mmmmm.

  6. lokiangel says:

    Minnesota cheese? That’s fascinating and I would love to try it 🙂

    I’d try the Minnesota’s Favorite sampler, it looks to be the most versatile. Thanks so much!

  7. Katie D. says:

    This is the best giveaway I’ve seen in a long time! Cheese is the best, haha. 😉 Anyway, I would love to win the Snacker gift box! It has a little bit of everything, which is perfect. 🙂

  8. Amanda says:

    I would love the Minnesota Favorite. I completely deserve it since I am running my first half this weekend!

  9. Brooke says:

    Minnesota’s Favorite. Why? Two words: Bacon Cheddar. Yes please.

  10. Christy says:

    We love cheese in this house! I’d want the Minnesota’s Favorites. MMMMM, cheese!

  11. Jessica says:

    I would love the Minnesota’s favourite! My FIL is from MN and his mother still lives up there! 🙂 Gotta love the midwest and their cheese! 🙂

  12. Tyler says:

    Yes, please. Wait, that wasn’t specific??! I would choose the Minnestoa Favorite too. I think the bacon cheese got me.

  13. Kierstan says:

    I love cheese and Minnesota! (oh Minnesota – how I miss you so…except when you have 847 feet of snow I have not seen a flake yet!) I would go with the classic – Minnesota’s Favorite – because Minnesooooootans know what they are talking about!

  14. shelby says:

    I have to say I’d go with the original. OMG BACON CHEDDAR OMG.

    What would I use it for? Shoveling in my drooling mouth, obviously. 🙂

  15. Brit says:

    One word. Bacon. Obviously Minnesota’s Favorite is the one that I would want!

    Nice stats for November! I think next year I might set a mileage goal for the year. It would go a long way towards keeping my motivation up!

  16. lauren says:

    My choice: Minnesota’s favorite

    Not only would I like to sample “Minnesota’s favorite” but would totally indulge myself after running my first marathon & incorporate some of them in our family baked mac & cheese recipe!

  17. Sadlebred says:

    I would get the Country Combo.

    I LOVE Colby Jack cheese and eat it almost every week. Hubby loves sausage. Cheese rocks my world!

    Mmmmm….Cheese curds!

  18. Kristie says:

    Love cheese!

    Minnesota Favorite definitely…. for the BACON. Bacon makes everything better.

  19. Amanda says:

    I can never make up mind, I would pick either Snacker or Minnesota’s Favorite…they both sound extra cheese-tastic! There would be NO regifting involved, as I LOVE cheese sooo much! 🙂
    Best giveaway ever!

  20. Rebecca says:

    Ooh, the Premier box sounds great! I looove sharp cheddar. I don’t eat sausage but I bet my husband would love it!

  21. Beth says:

    OK, they all sound good, but I would love to try Minnesota’s favorite. Why? Cheddar is perfect for making baked macaroni and cheese, and bacon cheddar sounds amazing! My dad loves (all) cheeses and summer sausage, so this would be perfect to have on hand when he and other family members are visiting.

    Also, who doesn’t need a little extra calcium, right? At least that’s my excuse for loving cheese so much!

  22. Dee says:

    I would be honored to receive any of the gift baskets. My Son and i would be in heaven. We haven’t been able to afford cheese for awhile, and it is one of his favorite foods! Just thinking about it makes my mouth water!

  23. Bree says:

    Yum! I had no idea the Kaukauna spreads were made here.

    The cheeses that caught my eye were hot pepper and bacon! I don’t go crazy about plain bacon, but cheese and bacon go good together 🙂

    • Lisa says:

      Hmm – you know I don’t know for sure if the Kaukauna is made here or if they just sell it. All the Fieldgate brand cheeses are made here, but I guess I’ve never had the spreads they sell. Anybody know the answer to that?

  24. Brittany says:

    I would love to get any of it! I think the original would be wonderful! We eat so much cheese in our house!

  25. Teri says:

    Wow! What a great giveaway. Since I am unemployed I have nothing to give (of course, I do have a bunch of old sales materials my previous employer failed to pick up. We could do an exchange if you’re interested…)

    Anywho, the Snacker Gift Basket looked awesome. I drive five hours to Michigan each year to spend Christmas with my parents, and when I arrive it is usually about 8 pm on a snowy evening and we sit around the fire and have a glass of wine and chat. A cheese basket would be a perfect compliment to our first night together as a family (and a nice gift for them!)

    Cheers,
    Teri

  26. Jenny says:

    If I were to be the winner I would want the snacker package because I would love to try the spreadable cheese in it. Cheese has always been one of my favorite foods!
    Thanks for doing this!

  27. Kristin says:

    MMMMM… cheese! I’d choose the Deluxe, the more cheese the better!!

  28. patricia magliochetti says:

    I would love to win the minnesotas favorite love bacon,i hope i win,i never win

  29. lee says:

    I would choose the deluxe box! But they all sound delicious. We love cheese!!

  30. Michelle says:

    I would love the Gift Box: Minnesota’s Favorite. Sounds great and I would love to put it out for my holiday party! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

