Gorgeous Winter Sunset: As Pictured by a Below Average Photographer

Greetings from 36 degree Minnesota. It was above freezing for most of the day, and that meant all the precipitation we got came down as rain. Things got soggy, and now they’re getting treacherous and icy as temps drop. Plus, the snow is a’coming down. To all my fellow Midwest-dwellers, stay safe on the roads!

Today’s post showcases exactly what the title claims. Have a look.

Pretty accurate description? Beautiful views like these are definitely one of the redeeming points of spending chilly evenings outside at the farm. They just never look quite the same on camera as they do in real life!

In the midst of feeding grain to the outdoor pens of calves this weekend, I stopped to contort myself in an attempt to find the right angle and capture the colors in the sky. At that moment, my husband came strolling over with Wellington close behind. I’m sure he would’ve made a fitting remark, but Wellington beat him to it with his deep, loud bark.

I probably looked strange standing in the middle of the yard doing something out of the ordinary, so Welle clearly felt the need to announce this to the world ๐Ÿ™‚

Running Tales

Over this Thanksgiving weekend, I didn’t get in many miles. Traveling, spending time with family and keeping up with things at the farm just consumed most of the available hours. And I’m just not one of those people to sacrifice family time (or baby calf time)!

 I was lucky enough to have Friday off from my 9-5 job, so I made a trip to the gym on Friday for my lone run of the four-day weekend.

I set the timer for an hour, fiddled with the pace or incline whenever I got too bored, and managed 6.29 miles. That brings last week’s grand total mileage to 12.5 So be it.

Today was honestly nuts, but I really wanted – maybe needed –  to get in some form of a run. I again headed for the treadmill (because I’m wimpy and wanted to avoid the rain) for 25 minutes. Almost 3 miles is certainly better than no miles at all.

Did your normal routine get altered due to the long Thanksgiving weekend? Do you happily go with the flow, or are you one of those who miss your regular schedule?

Do you attempt to capture beautiful sunsets (or other scenic wonders) on camera only have them turn out “not quite right” ?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gorgeous Winter Sunset: As Pictured by a Below Average Photographer

  1. Beautiful sunset! It is so hard to get good photos of an awesome sunset.

    My “normal routine” did get mixed up a bit this last week, but because I had a cold (and was feeling lazy) not because of Thanksgiving. I’ll make up for it this week…maybe! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. sweatykid says:

    Cotton candy sky, looks good enough to eat.

    My normal routine always gets shuffled a little with holidays and travel, but I don’t mind the change of pace. Usually it just involves getting up even earlier than usual or a nice rest day or two.

    I’m already planning on treadmilling it tomorrow. It’s gross out. But let’s console ourselves with the idea that it’s far more badass to run on the treadmill than to not run at ALL because of the weather!

  3. Brit says:

    Those are awesome sunset pictures…below average photographer…pssht!

    My “plan” for last week was overly ambitious considering the holiday weekend. Like you noted, I also ran about 12.5 miles. Not quite as many as I had hoped for, but I had the rare chance to hang out with my family, so I skipped a few runs.

    I have been lucky enough to avoid the treadmill for a few weeks now since Chris has suddenly decided to take up running again. (Totally random, right?) I would stick it out on the treadmill if the weather or lack of daylight required it. In fact, I am often way more proud of myself for making it through boring treadmill runs than normal outdoor ones. It takes a lot more commitment!

    I am not a huge “scenic wonder” photographer, but Chris is. Nearly every weekend morning he takes hundreds of pictures of our pond trying to perfectly capture relfections, mist, and who knows what else? Sometimes they turn out pretty cool. Other times it just looks like hundreds of pictures of foggy water to me. As long as he is enjoying it… ๐Ÿ™‚ Your sunset pictures are much more spectacular!

  4. Bree says:

    Love the pictures!

    I am able to go with the flow for a long weekend but am itching to get back into my routine after a few days. I was more then ready to hit the gym yesterday, but it was nice to take it easy over the long weekend.

Leave a Reply

