Nice and Slow, Easy Does It!

Greetings from 7 degree Minnesota. Yeah; it was 7 degrees this morning when my car crunched out of the driveway. It was cold enough that the snow had that half squeak, half crunch sound as I carefully drove out. Brr…
 
Even though it was cold, today was clear and sunny. The forecast looks ominous for tomorrow, so I decided I’d better get in some outdoor miles while the going was good. And… the going was okay, but quite slow. I don’t have any fancy snow gear for my shoes, so I carefully avoided the ice patches and tried not to get too much snow caked on my shoes.
 
I picked my way through parts of my normal running routes, and some walking was definitely involved to keep me from taking a very un-graceful fall. I haven’t posted any running stats for a while, so I’m not real keen about posting these. Here they anyway.
 

If it’s slippery where you are, I wish you safe running, driving and walking!

I’m feeling generous tonight, so I though I would share some special photos of what Wellington does if he’s feeling too cooped up.

Being a rather short-haired breed, he isn’t thrilled with this cold weather. He followed me inside the barn, but then hark, he heard a sound outside. Something that demanded his immediate attention – an approaching person or car, I don’t remember. Let me preface this by saying we don’t let Welle jump up on people or things if we can help it.

So what’s a bulldog to do when he can’t see out the window and he needs to investigate?

Why, he stand up on two feet of course. 🙂

After my rousing post yesterday to start Thanksgiving week, I think tonight I want to close by thanking God for some more blessings:

My great husband, family and friends; my health and ability to do the things I love; Wellington the bulldog; and the simple fact that we have a home, jobs, enough to eat, and a great country to live in, with a special thanks to the troops who help keep it great.

I’m sure this is the question on every blog from here to Timbuktu, but feel free to share some more things you’re thankful for.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, This and That, Wellington and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nice and Slow, Easy Does It!

  1. Brit says:

    Today, I am especially thankful that I am headed home to see my family for the weekend. I haven’t been home since July, it is about time!

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

  2. Bree says:

    Oh no – not the squeaky snow! Always a sign that it’s cold.

    My run outside yesterday was a challenge. It was a lot colder then I thought and my time sucked, from the cold and avoiding ice. Oh well. I tell myself that it’s like running in 90’s with humidity – a challenge that will pay off eventually.

    I am thankful that I get to be home with my family later today. It’s been a while since we have all been home. Now we just have to get there safely in the storm!

    Have a good Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

