Washing Bottles Just Got Easier

Greetings from 25 degree Minnesota. We’ve been getting an intermittent snow/rain mix the last two days, and roads, vehicles and nearly everything else is covered with an icy glaze. It was a long, slow drive to work this morning. On my way I saw several trucks spreading salt and gravel, so thanks guys!

In case you’ve managed to forget, it’s now Thanksgiving week. I thought I would start the week off by taking some time to give thanks for a gadget at the farm that makes life a bit easier.

When you have lots of these that need washing twice a day;

Just some of the bottles needed for one feeding

you definitely need one of these handy, dandy sanitizers!

 

Before we got the sanitizer over a year ago, all bottles had to be washed and sanitized by hand. This was a very wet job, and it was tedious because it seemed like there should be a more efficient way.

If you’ve ever worked in a restaurant or industrial kitchen, you may recognize this as the same, or similar, to a sanitizer used in those environments. Now that we have this wonderful machine, I just need to thoroughly rinse the bottles with sudsy water, turn them upside down in their racks, and put them through a sanitize cycle. For the black bottle tops, we have blue trays with individual slots for each. The trays slide right into the sanitizer too.

Whenever I get tired of washing bottles, I try to remind myself how much easier the process is than it used to be!

Running Tales

With extra slippery ice lurking on most road shoulders and sidewalks, it was definitely a treadmill day. 3.19 miles in 28 minutes. Not too exciting, but a solid effort. A good run doesn’t have to be crazy fast or flashy. A lot of solid runs mixed with some speedier miles and a weekly (or so) long run really does add up to a good running base. Amazing how simple that sounds and how difficult it can be sometimes. 😀

I’m sort of embracing running “maintenance mode” again. I’m pretty sure last month I was lamenting my lack of a schedule, but right now I like running when and how I want. Just being a normal runner is a-okay.

I’m fond of saying that most farmers (like us) are just normal people trying to do a good job raising food. Most farmers fly under the radar so to speak. (Unless there’s a doom and gloom story to be told, and then the media snaps it up. Ug; anyhow.)

And I suppose I’m just a normal runner trying to do a good job getting in some miles and running happy and injury-free. I also fly under the radar, as the general public certainly knows nothing about me and my farming or running escapades!

Any non-traditional items or gadgets you want to give thanks for?

What’s the weather doing in your neck of the woods today?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Washing Bottles Just Got Easier

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Gadgets I’d like to thank, well, in the spirit of things that wash; I appreciate my dishwasher a ton. Before we built our house we didn’t have a dishwasher and we hand washed dishes for 4.5 years. Ick. Now we are so spoiled with a dishwasher and I love it!

    I have no idea what the weather is right now, it’s 6:30am. I let the dogs out and it felt kind of chilly but I don’t know the temperature and I don’t know the forecast. It’s probably supposed to get in the high 70’s, maybe 80’s today. Welcome to Florida.

  2. Brit says:

    I feel like a gadget should come to mind quickly, but I’m struggling with this one. I’m really thankful for our tractor. We thought we were going to need to get by with a regular riding lawn mower because when we bought our house we couldn’t afford a tractor. My dad, my grandma, and Chris’ grandma each paid for 1/4 of our tractor to help us out. I can’t thank them enough. We have a big swampy yard and needed bigger tires, 4WD, and the much wider cutting swath to get the lawn mowing done in a reasonable? 8 hours.

    We have had fairly warm weather for the past few days. Last night Chris and I ran in shorts and t-shirts because it was still 62 degrees out at 8 PM. It is supposed to get more chilly over the next few days and we may even get sleet or snow later in the week.

  3. shelby says:

    The weather here in NC could not be more perfect. I am currently sitting in front of the open screen door while 65* and sunshine pours in. It’s supposed to be in the mid-70s today! But no humidity! Pretty much perfect.

    (Remind me of this when I turn into a whiny mess next summer.)

    We don’t have many fancy gadgets, but I feel very lucky to have a washer/dryer in my apartment instead of having to send it out or deal with a communal laundry room!

    • Lisa says:

      You people and your perfect weather – ug! I’m happy that somebody has nice weather though, and sounds like you’re enjoying it properly! I’ll remind you not to be a “whiny mess” next summer 😀

  4. sweatykid says:

    We got our first snow here in town today! I had a snowy, lovely run — very slowed by the depth of the snow, already several inches. I wore my studded pullovers thinking they would be enough to deal with the snow, but I underestimated the depth. Next time I will wear the more heavy-duty yaktrax! I love snowy runs — they are a little frustrating because my pace slows, but I like to think of it as a form of resistance training.

    Those are the gadgets I’m thankful for today: things you can pull over your sneakers to make it possible to run and enjoy the outdoors in icy and snowy conditions.

    I’m in maintenance mode right now too!

  5. Jess says:

    Yuck. It’s 4 degrees and my hubs is outside running right now. Before that, he brought me a frozen hen. Poor thing started her molting too late, and now I feel like a bad chickie mama.

    Winter arrived just ALL AT ONCE didn’t it!? Yuck.

Leave a Reply

