I Bowled, I Ran, I Trimmed Trees

Greetings from Minnesota. You can nearly taste winter in the crisp chill of the air, and you can definitely feel it numbing your fingers and toes!

It seems like forever since J and I have done something social with friends, so last night after farm chores it was great to do some catching up with a few friends. No new calves last night and no unexpected mishaps, so we were even mostly on time. Bowling was the plan – which I haven’t done in years. While none of us were very good, it’s totally entertaining to watch people’s different bowling strategies πŸ™‚ I managed a 119 and a 139, which means bowling last night went better for me than most contact sports.

Today, I think I did a record number of laundry loads. Exciting, huh? Cold weather means more layers of barn clothes, running clothes… really every kind of clothes. We also got a lot of end of season work done in our woods and yard. I don’t think we’ll really quit “end of season” stuff until the snow is too deep to continue, and so it goes.

Running Tales

It was cold, but a good day for a run this morning. I knew while I ran I would stew about all the things I should be doing instead of running. So, I got a few things done before I headed out, like starting some laundry. (not exactly like the temps would get too warm if I waited until late morning.) When I got back home I started doing some more of the things I should have been doing; such as helping J outside…and more laundry.

As for the run – about 19 degrees, 8 miles at a moderate/unknown pace. My GPS totally went on the fritz, and when I finished it said I’d done almost 9 miles at 6:55 pace. Yeah; not quite. Probably about 9:55. It’s still challenging to dress right for the weather, but I stayed mostly comfy with 3 layers on top and a good pair of tights. I looked like a weirdo; I’ll have to get brave and post a picture of one of my mismatched winter running get-ups.

I like cooler weather runs, but right now I’m still adjusting. I try to sternly remind myself that freezing is better than 90 and humid. But when my fingers are numb, it’s easy to forget!

What’s your favorite temp/weather for a long run?

Have you been bowling recently? Do you enjoy it?

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Gardening and Yard Stuff, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Bowled, I Ran, I Trimmed Trees

  1. sweatykid says:

    I’m a total temperature wimp — I ran in three base layers, a tech vest, AND a windbreaker yesterday (plus gloves and ear/headband), and it was about 25*F. I dunno why I require so much clothing… I just know that I’ll sweat no matter what, and once that happens, I am a goner because it freezes and then I’m 3x as cold! It’s weird.

    That said, I much prefer 20’s to 90’s, temp-wise. No contest.

  2. Brit says:

    I also have some interesting weather getups. Chris jokes that I usually end up looking like a ninja because my favorite running tights, fleece, hat, and gloves are all black. This year I bought a blue fleece, so that should help, but I found that I like wearing it so much that I avoid wearing it running because then it will be out of commission until I get around to washing it.

    We also had a laundry marathon this weekend. I have lost count of how many loads, but I’m guessing 4 or 5 and we still have Mt. Laundry piled up in the floor next to our washer.

    The ’30’s and ’40’s are my favorite running temperatures. I am having trouble adjusting my layers to the weather lately also, mainly because our weather keeps changing. A few weeks ago I was running in tights and long sleeves. Saturday I wore a hat and gloves on my run, but yesterday I ran in a sport bra and shorts. It has been all over the place!

Leave a Reply

