Thoughts on snow, ice, etc

Greetings from Minnesota. The weather is finally catching up with us in mid-November, and we’ve got snow in the forecast late tonight and then tomorrow. How do I feel about this? Honestly, I still get a little excited for the first snow. I like gazing out at the pristine white blanket it makes and seeing stately pines covered with a light dusting of powder. Snow also means that Thanksgiving and Christmas aren’t far away. (Yippe!)

As much as I enjoy the beauty of snow, the reality is that is makes a lot of work. Sidewalks must be shoveled, and we have to dig out the farm driveway and yard if the snow is deep enough. Water pipes and whole refrigerators can freeze up in our smaller barn, and fingers easily get chilly while feeding baby calves. Driving can be treacherous, and the short days and long nights mean more work has to be done in the darkness.

Snow can also make outdoor running a bit of a challenge, and I have to run more slowly as I navigate patches of ice and slush and deal with a narrower shoulder on the road due to heaping snow piles on the sides. In anticipation of things to come, I bring to you several pictures from 2009…

View in the farm yard

View from our front porch

Ah, winter. I can feel the freezing air in my lungs and the tingle in my fingers and toes already 🙂 But, I know I’ll be sick of it by January.

Just to come back to reality, it is NOT winter yet. It actually still looks like fall around here tonight, so I’ll share a recent shot of one of my favorite running paths.

View from my running shoes

Running Tales

Today was a rest day, but I went on a fabulous run yesterday. I planned on going for about an hour and taking things nice and slow. Once I got going, my legs told me they wanted to move. So I said “Okay legs, show me what you got!” What resulted was a progressively faster run and my first decently paced long run in quite a while. I wish I would have started a bit faster, but so it goes. My legs even felt okay during that 8:53 7th mile, so I think it was just what I needed. If I squeeze in a longer run this weekend, I’m planning to plod like a turtle.

What’s your verdict on winter? Do you love it, hate it, or have feelings somewhere in the middle. Do you get snow where you live?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts on snow, ice, etc

  1. sweatykid says:

    I enjoy winter, and can’t imagine living in a place that doesn’t have a nice dose of seasonal variation.

    In fact, running in perfect weather every day is boring… and even though I whine whine whine about running in crummy winter weather, it definitely makes the “good” weather runs even more amazing. (And after such a humid pollen-infested slowwww-running summer, I have been embracing the cold, dumping rainy runs here by comparison).

    Great snowy farm shots — farm life in the winter sounds pretty rugged!

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Meh, winter is okay. The only good thing about it is the cooler temperatures for running but there is a fine line between cool and cold.

    This morning it’s borderline. I’m meeting w/ the running group and its supposed to be 55 @ the start of our run, that is pushing it. Dressing is my biggest issue w/ winter. If I could just stay inside the whole time that would be great.

    Have a great weekend

  3. Brit says:

    I love winter. Right now we live a bit too far south for “real” winter though. We still get cold temperatures, but not enough snow and when we do get snow it doesn’t stick around very well. Ideally, I would like to live in a place with heavy snow and temperatures just cool enough to keep it around.

    Some of my best runs have been in the winter. The cold air is so refreshing to breathe, it makes running at brisk pace so much less taxing!

Leave a Reply

