The Respite of Morning

Greetings from Minnesota. The weather has been dry and warm, allowing us to continue with tillage to get the fields prepared for spring. I think we’re about half done… pictures to come soon, when I remember to take some :-).

Even though it’s Monday, I want to talk about Sunday morning. Sound okay? Sunday is generally the only morning, other than some holidays, that I do farm chores. During fall and winter, mornings are definitely better because it gets lighter and warmer as you go about your work, as opposed to darker and colder. I also find it almost therapeutic to be outside as the sun rises instead of driving or sitting at a desk.

On weekday mornings I am heading to the office by 7 am, and Saturday morning is usually our time to get a few odds and ends of our own done at home. I tend to make overly ambitious plans for early Saturday, and I’ll try to fit in a long run, mountains of laundry, and cooking a large batch of something along with yard work and maybe an impromptu grocery trip. I try to enjoy Saturday because I can foresee getting “caught up” on things or at least feeling like my head is above water. But honestly –  I don’t like the chaos of feeling like I have 20 things on my to-do list, and I might be lucky to check off 10 of them.

But something simple and good happens on Sunday morning. I can temporarily forget my messy house and just sip coffee, eat a bite of breakfast, and go to the farm and find my rhythm. While I admit to having a hard time rousing myself out of bed, I am good to go once I get my feet on the floor. While things aren’t always perfect during the morning (fussy calves who don’t want to drink their milk, nasty weather, broken machinery, or worse) I still know things will be ok.

I will get the calves fed, and working together we’ll get the cows milked and bedded and fed because we must. It may seem weird, but taking care of our cow’s basic necessities just seems easier to me because it’s non-negotiable. The crisp morning air and early morning farm sounds usually inspire me, and even if they don’t I still know I must and will accomplish my tasks.

If Sunday goes smoothly then church is on the agenda. If it doesn’t, then I have a feeling God is okay with that too. Sunday can sometimes mean a full day at the farm, but more often than not we get home for lunch for a few hours. Whatever the day brings, I always feel a sense of accomplishment at the close.

Hmm – I feel like I’ve just constructed any entire post based on one thought in my head, and now I don’t even know what it’s meant to be about. Before I compel you to read any more of my musings, I’m going to share some of the pictures I snapped yesterday. I sort of meant to start with these, but my “quick” thoughts morphed into multiple paragraphs.

I hope you all had a good weekend and found your own peace and respite amidst the busyness of life. Thank you again for your kind responses to my prayer request on Friday. J’s Grandpa peacefully passed away on Sunday. I know the many thoughts and prayers sent up are helpful and appreciated as we mourn.

What is your morning routine – weekdays? weekends? Do you struggle to keep up with everything in your life sometimes?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, This and That, Wellington and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Respite of Morning

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I’m sorry to hear about J’s Grandpa. =(

    I absolutely struggle to keep up with everything right now. I got home last night and thankfully Chris had done some laundry so that was very nice. Other then that the house is a wreck, needs to be swept, and just picked up in general. There is no food, so I need to go to the grocery store, and then there is that ever impending matter of school. bah!

    I just can’t wait to February, until then, I’ll just keep truckin’ on.

    My weekday mornings are the same Wed-Sat: I get up, shower, eat, wake chris up, pack his lunch, make coffee, get dressed/makeup, out the door to work.

    Mon/Tues I don’t have to wake Chris up since he doesn’t work. Sundays are the only days we have off together but most of the time I’m either out doing a training run or racing so we haven’t spent a Sunday together in a while. We’ve been SO busy.
    I’m really ready to not be quite so busy.

Leave a Reply

