A Cow with Stripes

Greetings from Minnesota. It got down to the low 20’s last night, and everything was cold, frosty and dark when I left for work this morning.

Today I thought I would show off one of our more unique cows. Meet 2389. I also call her Tiger. Maybe I should get points for creativity on that name?

“Tiger” the Cow

Aside from looking unique with her orange-y color and black stripes, she also has other interesting qualities. She’s actually one of our shortest and smallest cows (though it’s hard to tell from the picture), and I think she’s got relatively large ears and a large muzzle (nose/mouth) in relation to the rest of her. These aren’t bad traits, but I rather think they add to her overall appeal 🙂

You may be wondering how a cow comes to look like Tiger? Well, She’s a crossbred, or more than one breed, and is actually a three-way cross. Her mother (dam) is half Holstein and half Brown Swiss, and her father (sire) is Swedish Red. Most of our cows are pure Holstein, but we’re also learning a lot from seeing how crossbreds do in terms of milk production, health, reproduction and longevity in our herd. Besides, Tiger is one cool lookin’ cow!

Running Tales

It’s been a busy few days of meetings and events for work, so I took Wednesday and Thursday as rest days. Today I did 5 miles at an average (for me) pace of about 9:40.  No chart because my GPS signal kept getting goofed up and giving strange readings or stalling completely. Luckily I was on a route where I knew how far I’d gone. The weather was a crisp 40ish degrees, and the sub-10 minute pace felt surprisingly easy over 5 miles. As much as I hate to admit it, I think I have better runs (that feel easier) when I take more rest or cross training days.

One of my goals for winter is to try to do at least 2 non-running workouts each week. (And 1 would be better than none if I can’t get 2 done!) This could mean 2 days of strength/weight training or just 1 day of strength plus one day of biking or other non-running activity. I know I’d probably be better off to do weight training multiple times per week plus biking, swimming, skiing, etc, but I also know I’m destined to fail if I set my sites that high. I need to be realistic, and I hope this is a doable plan.

No question for today. Rather, I just have a simple request. My “safe” blog world can be insulated from sorrow if I don’t acknowledge it, but I finally decided  I need to ask for your thoughts, prayers and hope.

My husband’s grandpa, who is a wonderful, energetic guy and probably healthier than most people half his age, was in a severe car accident yesterday. Things don’t look good, and I also realize things are beyond my control. We’re heading to the hospital now. Pray for him. And what I most ask for are prayers for my husband’s family as they struggle to cope. Thank you all.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Cow with Stripes

  1. Brit says:

    Lisa, I’m so sorry. What sad news. I will be praying for you and your husband’s family.

  2. sweatykid says:

    Your blog reflects pieces of your life, and life comes with awful tough stuff sometimes — don’t feel bad about sharing. I’m so sorry to hear this. The more thoughts, prayers, and hope sent out into the universe for him, the better — I’ll be thinking of you guys.

  3. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Aw, I’m sorry to hear about your husbands grandpa! Thoughts & prayers w/ you and J, and his family.

    That is a pretty cool looking cow, she kind of reminds me of the Brindle colored Pit Bulls. They are my favorite colored Pitties.

    Have a great weekend

  4. Lisa says:

    Thank you all for your kind comments. I greatly appreciate them (and all of you).

Leave a Reply

