That Little Red Sticker

Greetings from Minnesota. The pleasant weather holds, and I think it topped 55 again today 🙂

I was planning to hold off on posting this until the first Saturday of the month as instructed, but I decided it may lose some of its effect. With that brief intro, I present to you my second month’s self portraits for the Facing Myself Adventure over at the Old Nichols Farm Blog.

My last month’s effort can be found on this post, and you’ll notice that this month I got the hang of using the timer on my camera! Amazing. (yes, I did actually take these photos myself by using that handy little timer function).

You may also notice that I’m proud of my little red sticker. The sticker itself is, of course, meaningless, but it’s what it represents that is important for me. While I would say I’m not tethered to any one political party, I am a loyal voter. I still get excited by the simple fact that I can vote, even though it’s already been awhile since I turned the magic 18. I like trying to research candidates and issues, even though I may not do it as fully as I wish I had time to do.

Agriculture and rural policy issues are important too me, in addition to top of mind issues like the economy, health care and military/national defense. Local issues are crucial too, and I try to look closely at candidates for school board and township and county office too. These local officials make decisions that often affect us more quickly or directly than the state and national officials who get more press and attention.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a mystical individual who is somehow not annoyed by all the negative ads and outrageous accusations many candidates have been throwing out these past weeks. But in spite of this, I still realize I am lucky to live in a democracy where I can vote. And I will take advantage of it.

A part of me also recognizes that I am one of few women in history who has had the opportunity to go to the polls. Think about it…. 100 years ago in America women couldn’t vote. 100 years is just a speck of time in the larger picture. Hopefully you and I as women (because I think all my readers might actually be women) don’t forget too easily that our right to vote was dreamed about, fought for and hard-won.

That’s all for now, ladies! More cow tales and running tales will be coming soon.

If you could be elected to any office… What would it be?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Facing Myself Adventure, This and That and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That Little Red Sticker

  1. Brit says:

    I also made my way to the polls on Tuesday. I will also admit that I need to do a better job of researching ahead of time. I was lucky enough to see several candidates from our key races speak within the last few weeks, so I was familiar with them, but I did not know as much about the local candidates. Not knowing the local contenders wasn’t a huge problem since most of them ran uncontested, but I could have been left there scratching my head if they had opponents.

  2. sweatykid says:

    I don’t think I’d ever want to be elected to any office! I do vote, but I often feel frustrated by the system — I feel compelled to vote for someone who can actually win, rather than just voting for my values. It becomes sort of scheme-y on my part, and I don’t think that’s the way it should go! But maybe that’s just me being naive?

    That’s why I wouldn’t want to be elected to office though. I feel that a lot of elected officials find their goals and values warped by party pressures, media sensationalism and bureaucratic garbage. All part of the game, I suppose. But I imagine it’s as frustrating for them as it is for us.

  3. I, too, am reminded of how I need to do more research before going to vote. I knew most of the candidates, but there were some (soil and water district for instance) I had no idea about. I hate not knowing! The only thing I would be interested in doing in politics would be stuff like parks boards or city level commission stuff. And that’s a long shot because I am not a “joiner” 🙂

  4. Jess says:

    YAY for using your timer! YAY for voting! YAY for gorgeous weather!

    And you’re right, I probably do take voting for granted, when really it is such an amazing priviledge. I totally forgot that when I published my own “I voted” post.

  5. urban muser says:

    i try not to take voting for granted. great post and selfie.

  6. Cassie says:

    Great thoughts! Happy to see you linked up again…I missed linking up my self portrait this month…..sigh….oh well…..

  7. Pingback: Facing Myself in December « Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

