Last Time in Shorts?

Greetings from Minnesota. It reached a mild 58 degrees today, and I’m smart enough to know that days this warm will soon be gone until spring.

I couldn’t help thinking, as I jogged along in shorts and a light long-sleeve top, that this could be one of my last outdoor runs in shorts for awhile. In a matter of weeks we could have a thick layer of snow, or it could stay fairly warm until nearly December. The unpredictability and surprises the seasons bring generally make it fun to be a Minnesotan.

Today’s run was good. Just a few easy miles to shake out my legs after a harder effort yesterday at the track. Not to brag 😉 ,but I finally managed a track mile yesterday under 7:30. (7:28). It’s been awhile, if ever, that I’ve run a sub- 7:30 mile. Now I just have to be careful not to slack off and get lazy and slow this winter!

The mild weather has it’s great points, but remember those calf coats I told you about last week? Well, I had to do some checking today and take coats off my older babies so no one got overheated. Soon enough they may need to re-acquire a coat, but we’ll deal with that when it comes.

Hmm, I feel like I haven’t really said much tonight. I also don’t have any cool pictures to share. Guess I’ll say goodnight and let you (and me) get back to keeping tabs on election results!

Share if you like, what temperature for you means it’s officially too cold for shorts?

Is it just me, or were you surprised to find that you had over 10 different judge elections to vote for on your ballot? Maybe it’s just MN, but it seems like every election day this fact surprises me…

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last Time in Shorts?

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I think 58 degrees is definitely to cold for shorts, capris, but probably not shorts.

    For me, anything below 70 is questionable for shorts. I have been wearing jeans a lot more lately. Still shorts on my runs (ha, run, there is no (s) when you’ve only done 2 runs in the last 10 days.lame)

    This whole election is surprising to me. I don’t really get involved in politics to much, and I don’t talk about my beliefs to much either. I am pleasantly surprised w/ the outcome thus far.

  2. sweatykid says:

    I tend to wear long spandex for any temperature under about…mmm… 48*. Even though 48*’s not cold, there’s always gonna be a chance of wind and rain, which complicates things! And I’d rather be overheated than too cold. Nice job with the speedy mile!

  3. Brit says:

    I’m the oddball who runs in shorts and short sleeves down to about 50 degrees and probably just a sport bra and shorts above 55. I get SO.HOT when I run, which is kind of funny because I’m also the girl who can be found wearing two sweatshirts and two pairs of socks if we turn our heat down to 68 in the winter.

  4. Pingback: Running, Lifting and That Evil Myth « Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

