Comfy Cows, Snug Feet, and a Warm Meal

Greetings from blustery Minnesota. It was drizzly and in the 40’s today, nothing to really complain about, except the wind was wild. I nearly careened across the parking lot trying to navigate to my car, and I got home to discover a small portion of the barn roof blew off. Then, a full size evergreen tree fell down in our front yard. Eep! So on this crazy windy day, I want to talk about warm, snuggly, cozy things. I’ll fill you in on the other incidents once the rain and wind let up.

This is a rather strange post title, so be prepared for a hodge-podge of a post.

First up, Comfy Cows.

Comfy Cow Sleeping

Comfy Cow Awakened

Here are some of the cows that currently grace our maternity pen; they’re due to have a calf within the next month. It never ceases to shock me how deeply they nap. When I see a cow looking like the top picture, I’ll wander over and make sure she is just sleeping and not flopped over in pre-labor fatigue or extreme stomach distress. (Those things do happen.) As we can see from picture 2, I simply disturbed this “Sleeping Beauty” from her early evening nap. Silly me.

In all seriousness, we do take cow comfort seriously. We work hard to give our cows a clean and comfortable environment to sleep, eat and live in, along with plentiful food, water and care. I’m thinking Sleeping Beauty gives us a thumbs up?
 
Next up, Snug Feet.
What exactly do I mean by snug feet? I’m actually thinking about these, which I wore to do some long-avoided strength training at noon. They are quite snug, rather like a glove.
 
 
Yes, I am the owner of a pair of Vibram Bikilas. I justified the purchase by using some of the money I got for my birthday in July (after much hassle trying to find a store somewhere in the greater 50 states that had a pair of my size in stock). I thought they may be the answer to all my little running aches and pains, and for some reason I really had to have them.
 
My simple assessment = They aren’t magic. In truth, I hardly run in them once a week. During the summer they were perfect every few mornings for a quick mile run. Now that it’s pitch dark before I leave for work I mainly wear them for weights at the gym. They are comfortable and flat, so I think they work great for this.
 
I like these crazy shoes, but I still need my plain-Jane neutral cushioned New Balances for any substantial run. Runner’s World recently ran a nice article that answers some questions and talks about minimal running shoes (and even barefoot running) and how they can be a good tool in addition to regular running shoes. Some people can use these full-time, but I am not one of those people.
 
If you have other questions feel free to ask, but I’ve decided against droning on and on about the pros and cons of minimalist running. Maybe I shall do a more comprehensive post in the future if there are enough questions.
 
Finally, the Warm Meal
I don’t have too much to write here, other than to say thanks to Shelby at eat, drink, run for providing the recipe for our supper last night. I made her Maple-Apple Spaghetti Carbonara, except I substituted a random assortment of penne and rigatoni for the spaghetti noodles. It has bacon in it, so you know it’s good.
 
 
…but my picture just doesn’t make it look that good. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I feel I should quit posting pictures of unappetizing food, but then I reconsider and decide I’ll never get better at food photography unless I keep trying. I think what I also need is some better lighting in my kitchen. Thanks for putting up with me!
 
Today’s question – Have you run barefoot (not counting childhood) or in so-called minimalist shoes? Thoughts?
 
 
 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comfy Cows, Snug Feet, and a Warm Meal

  1. sweatykid says:

    I use Nike Frees for a small portion of my mileage, and over the summer I did a few laps barefoot on the infield of the track whenever I was there. It really did make certain aches disappear immediately, but my feet and ankles dont have the strength to switch over to that full time (and probably never will!)

    That cow was ZONKED OUT! Hilarious! Is it just me or is there something really satisfying (and slightly comical) about watching an animal sleep?

  2. Brit says:

    I read that RW article about minimalist shoes a few days ago. I have been wanting some for a long time now and that further solidified that desire. I can’t decide if I want gorilla shoes or Nike Frees or one of the other varieties, but I’m sure I’ll give in and get some eventually.

  3. shelby says:

    Man I would kill for 40s and blustery. It’s 85 and humid here. UGH

    Glad you liked the pasta! ๐Ÿ™‚ I still take a lot of food pics that are pretty meh. Having a DSLR and a kitchen with bright overhead lights helps a ton!

Leave a Reply

