My Little Red Riding Hoods

Greetings from 50 degree Minnesota. The promised rain has arrived, and we’ve had a haphazard drizzle for the past few days. All our corn is harvested (yay!) and safely in grains bins, but we’re hoping (hope with us if you want) for dry weather soon so we can finish plowing the fields. I guess plowing may be a whole other post…

I have a bunch to talk about tonight, so we’ll so how concise I can be. First, it’s starting to get chilly enough at night that we’ve brought out the coats…

The calf jackets have a water repellant canvas outside and a softer, quilted inside. We also have some black jackets, but they’re aren’t nearly as fun as the red ones 🙂  Since these pics, we’ve already had 2 more calves born and bundled into coats. This time of year the calves may only wear the coats for a few days or until a warm day pops up. During mid-winter, we’ll likely leave the coats on each calf up to a month. What a great invention for little calves.

Because of the cold, rainy weather and my general lack of motivation after a botched long run on Friday morning (if you didn’t read I somehow turned 10 miles into 4.33) there are no running tales from the weekend. I don’t want to say, but in the interest of full disclosure I’ll tell you I ended this last week at 11.9 miles. Ug.  I just decided to start fresh Monday, and I had a rather uneventful 4 miles at 9:49 pace earlier today. So it goes.

What I really want to talk about is the shopping we did this weekend! I love shopping when done in moderation, and we seriously needed to go. One good thing about the weekend’s rain was it meant that the hubs wasn’t in the field plowing on Sunday afternoon. Together we drove the 1/2 hour to our nearest “shopping hub” or city with a population of 5 digits.  What proceeded was a frenzied struggle amid masses of people to stock up on staples like bulk coffee beans, huge jars of green olives, and tasty frozen pizza. Don’t judge; we all need at least one go-to frozen food. 😉  We also mysteriously acquired roughly three pounds of these…

and 10 pounds of these…

After our harried trip, we headed to the farm for evening chores, which included coating another new baby heifer in red. When we finally arrived in our kitchen around 8:15, hunger was paramount. J set to work creating something, while I unloaded our groceries and other, ahem, purchases.

The supper creation turned out to be quite tasty. I told him to name it and try to reconstruct the recipe while I scrawled it down on a post-it. I actually just posted a separate entry for the newly created Sweet and Spicy Mexican Steak and Yams. I decided I should also use some of the pears, so my dessert looked a little something like this.

I bet you want to know what my “other” purchases mentioned above are? I seem to have an addiction to new running gear, and I was in need of a good winter running hat. I ended up coming home with both of these:

The winter hat even has a pony-tail slot! The white Adidas cap is wicking, super lightweight and the perfect thing to shade my eyes from the summer sun, that is pretty much non-existent now. Oh well, it will be perfect for next summer. I have an extreme need to agonize over and rationalize all non-essential purchases. These were both on sale, and the white hat was way cheaper than expensive running sun glasses. Successful purchases I think.

Do you get the feeling that I’m trying to masquerade as a food blogger? Well, I kind of just did. Hopefully you don’t mind too much. After all, everybody’s gotta eat!

Thoughts on the calf coats?

Have you recently purchased too much of a food item (a’la 10 pounds of yams)? How did you use it all up?

Picked up any fun clothing or personal purchases lately?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cooking and Foods, Cows, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Little Red Riding Hoods

  1. sweatykid says:

    I love the capes. Red on black is a really striking combination. My brother and I used to tie this red tartan quilt onto our black lab so that she’d have a cape. She looked fabulous in it. Then we would get yelled at because the quilt was important, and from Scotland. Or something.

    I really wanted steak tonight but ended up just eating a veggie Mexican fiesta instead, complete with tortillas. A lot like yours, but not as good. Because there was no steak!

    • Lisa says:

      I want to see this “dog in cape” combo 🙂 I sometimes worry about Wellington in super cold weather because he really doesn’t have much hair, but he is NOT happy with any sort of “gear” at all.

  2. Brit says:

    I love the calf coats! I want one for Duke when he plays in the snow!

    I don’t think I have purposely purchased too much of something lately, but I did have my CSA give me entirely too many tomatoes at our last pick-up a few weeks back. I ended up freezing them, so they are still not used up.

    I had an all out shopping spree over the weekend. I feel slightly guilty, but it was time. I hadn’t purchased proper work clothes in so long that some of my work shirts (I work in an office btw) went straight from work wear to painting clothes. At that point I decided that I must look pretty scruffy to my co-workers, so I got six new shirts, three pairs of pants, and a pretty red scarf (the indoor kind, not a winter one). I feel so put together this week. It has been a while since I got excited about dressing up for work!

  3. Those calf caps are so cute! We never had those on our farm, but they look to be quite useful!

  4. Cassie says:

    Your dessert looks absolutely amazing!

    I too agonize over every single non-essential purchase I make and refuse to pay full price on anything I buy for myself. I’m pretty good at finding good deals.

    I once got a HUGE bag of craisens – HUGE. They don’t perish very quickly, so it lasted us for most the summer. But even with the excess of garden produce in the freezer, I have to be very intentional about using it. I do weekly meal planning, writing out the meals I will make each night that week coordinating it with our schedules and when I will need leftovers to tide us over. I then make a list of stuff I need at the store and buy only what’s on the list! It’s tough sometimes, but our grocery budget has benefited.

    • Lisa says:

      Sounds like you’ve got it all figured out! I should really start doing more planning ahead. We’ll buy things in bulk because they’re a deal and we do use them up, but sometimes we’ll just have to eat a lot of the same thing for a few days to keep it from going to waste. Now that I’m mostly done figuring out creative ways to use all the garden produce I totally miss it…

  5. Pingback: Thanksgiving and the Big, Blue Box « Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

