A Speedy Morning!

Greetings from Minnesota. It was about 40 degrees at 8:30 am; perfect weather for running in my opinion!

I made it to the start of the 5K I’d been hoping to run, and I was excited for my first race since July 31. My plan was to be aggressive; “attack” sounded like a fun word to keep in my brain during the race. So, I attempted to attack the course. My unofficial RunKeeper splits: Mile 1 = 7:57 (good), Mile 2 = 8:27 (crappy), Mile 3 = 8:11 (a little better), .14 = 1:04 (the course may have been a tad off, or more likely my RunKeeper was off).

I finished with an official time of 25:42. It’s a PR, and I did end up taking second in my age group, though they only gave awards to the top place. My stomach got a little crampy in the second mile but I generally felt pretty good, so I wish I could have run a little faster. Under 25:00 would have been nice. 🙂 But, so it goes. Overall it was a nice race with lots of younger kids and families, probably around 100 people, and I’m glad I ran.

Various races usually beckon me, but many times I have other committments or things get too busy at the farm. Except for the half marathons I’ve done, I generally have to look at most races as tentative until I’ve physically arrived anyway. Today’s conditions were also far superior to July 31, when I ran a 10K on the most humid and muggy morning I could have dreaded. Today was one of those crisp days that just makes you happy to be a runner.

My 5K PR going into today was a 26:38 I ran back in June. (That would be an 8:35 pace for those of you who are fast enough that you have no frame of reference for 5K times this slow 😉 )

Maybe a brief history of me would be valuable here. I digress. Once upon a time, Lisa ran track in high school. She wasn’t very fast and she didn’t have much endurance, so she became… a hurdler. She wasn’t terribly good at that either, but she managed to somewhat compete in the 300m hurdles and even won the occasional ribbon. [insert picture here.]

This (from LA Times) is an example of how I didn’t look.

I guess I need to look for a personal hurdling picture. Anyway, then Lisa went to college. Shockingly enough, she started to enjoy longer distance running. However, a normal week was only 2-3 miles a few mornings per week. Somehow, between the later years of college and the first years of moving back to rural MN, working, marriage and farming, Lisa discovered she could actually run longer and faster if she ran more consistently and gave it some
effort. What a revelation! The resulting progression of 5K times occurred:

  • August 2009 – 28:38
  • October 2009 – 27:36
  • June 2010 – 26:38
  • and now today’s 25:42

So I guess the moral of the story is that I should run more 5K’s because I can run nearly a minute faster each time. Only a few more races until I break 20:00 🙂 I wish. If you’re already a fast runner, this probably isn’t very motivating, but if you’re slow like me, you can see that there’s hope. Plus, it’s helpful when you start out slow because you get to PR a lot. It’s fun.

Will I run anymore 5K’s this year? I hope so. After October races do get more scarce in Minnesota, so we shall see. Usually there are a few Turkey Trots and Jingle Bell races, plus a few mid-winter events. Last January I actually signed up in advance for a 5K, very abnormal for me, but I couldn’t go because it was so icy and snowy. They still had the race, but my darling husband didn’t think my car would have made it.

Well,  I guess this recap actually ended up being more about my running past than today’s race, but oh well. Sometimes my posts end up taking on a life of their own. And now I should probably switch back to wife mode or farmer mode and make sure J has eaten at least something today and check in with my calves.

Run any good races lately? Any upcoming ones planned?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Race Reports, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Speedy Morning!

  1. sweatykid says:

    I really liked hearing your mini racing history. That’s a very impressive progression — chopping off that much time in each race? Dang, for real. That’s a big indicator of potential.

    Also, no need to make any self-deprecating comments about your times. If you ain’t in the Olympics, we’re all the same as far as I’m concerned — just regular people out there chasing our own goals and fighitng our own battles. In the scheme of things, times are inconsequential. The stuff that matters is effort, executing a plan in pursuit of a goal… just getting out there, taxing your lungs and legs and heart and feeling alive!!

    Wow, sorry for the tangent/long preachy comment. My own race experience this morning has had me mulling over this point quite a bit.

    How cool that you were a hurdler! I love watching hurdles during the Olympics. (If I had to freakin’ jump over anything in the middle of a race, it would be a guaranteed trainwreck…)

    • Lisa says:

      You’re totally right; no more self- deprecating comments. I’m always telling others that too, so I should really follow suit. As always, thanks for the stellar comments! Did you end up running this weekend? I assume if I check your blog I may find the answer.

  2. Brit says:

    Congrats on a new PR! It is pretty cool how much you have improved in the last year or so. Reading your race report totally makes me want to run another race soon!

Leave a Reply

