Tales from a Solitary Farm Wife

Greetings from Minnesota, where we are now actually experiencing fall. 38 this morning, brr, but I suspect it did get up to about 65 this afternoon.

It’s a good thing I have my blog (and my bulldog) to keep me company in the late evenings! During harvest, I guarantee there is many a farm wife who doesn’t see her husband more than a few minutes here and there all day. I still go to the farm after work and feed calves, check on cows and do my thing, but J is usually in the combine or the tractor. I’m glad he still needs to eat because at least I see him if I bring him some caffeine and an eat-on-the- go meal.

Our tractor and gravity boxes getting ready to go back to the field after unloading corn into the grain bins.

During the weekends I’ll ride in the combine or help more with field work, but during the week I don’t like to be up half the night if I can help it 🙂  There’s a bit more for me to do in the barns too with J and his parents and other employees busier with harvest. So I usually get home well after dark, and I alternate between eating a nice, normal meal and just grabbing things like sliced cheese, fruit, sandwiches, popcorn and other “snacky” foods and maybe a glass of wine. I actually enjoy these easy, grazing suppers! Last night I did grill up some burgers so there would be even more good leftovers in the fridge when it gets raided at all hours.

Here’s a look at what I’ve been making to try to keep the fridge stocked!

I love my crock pot! Slice some potatoes and carrots, add some sliced onion and celery if desired. Add a thawed beef roast (or 2 if you have a giant crock pot like me) and a touch of water. Season as desired – fresh ground black pepper is a must, and cook on low for about 8 hours or until tender. Yield: Leftovers for over a week!

*I made these up as I went but decided I should try to post an actual recipe

Lisa’s Enchiladas

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 can beans (black, pinto, garbanzo, etc)
  • 1 medium onion
  • fresh ground pepper, cumin, Mexican oregano, red pepper flakes
  • 1 large tomato or a handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup sour cream, if desired
  • 1 small can enchilada sauce (I use the hot or spicy variety)
  • shredded cheese
  • flour or corn tortillas

Brown the ground beef with the onion; add the beans and season to taste with the herbs and spices listed (or some of your other Mexican favorites). Transfer the beef mixture to a bowl. Chop and add the tomato, sour cream, and a small amount of shredded cheese. Fill the tortillas with the meat mixture, roll them up, and placed in a glass baking dish. Pour the enchilada sauce and additional shredded cheese over the tortillas. You can also add some of the enchilada sauce directly into the meat mixture. Bake at 375 until heated through and a bit crispy if you like. Serve over a bed of leaf lettuce with additional cheese, salsa, tomato, and sour cream.

Running Tales

I haven’t updated on my runs for a while, so here’s the stats from my lunch time runs on Wed and Thurs.

Nothing special; just a nice and easy recovery run. I was still feeling a bit stuffy so I didn’t want to push it.

Yesterday I could tell I was finally getting over my cold, and I’ve also been hoping to do a 5K on Saturday that’s pretty close to home. So, I ran (yes, the track’s only 3/4 mile away) to the track for some speed work. The plan was 2 x 1 mile with 200m recovery at about 8:00/mile pace. I think I wowed myself a little bit! I did about an exact mile of warm up and paused the clock during my 200m recovery so I could get sort of accurate splits. The 2nd track mile was a little slower because I had to head off the track on the last lap as the gym class came running out.  Based on this I should be able to run a 5K at sub 8:00 pace, right? Let’s hope I can sneak away tomorrow to run it, and maybe I can break that 8:00/mile barrier.

– Care to share your 5K PR?

– Any easy fall recipes you’ve enjoyed lately?

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Crops, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tales from a Solitary Farm Wife

  1. sweatykid says:

    Ahh! I hope the 5K went well if you got a chance to do it!

    Yipes. For a girl raised in surburbia like me, farming seems so romanticized and idyllic, when in reality everyone I’ve ever met who is associated with it will speak to the fact that it’s harrrrrd work with lonnnng days. I’m interested to read whether and how things slow down or change in the winter, in terms of your routine. Sounds like the pup is a good companion to have around.

Leave a Reply

