What I really look like

Greetings from beautiful Minnesota. I can not believe how warm and dry it’s been lately.  The temps are cooling a bit from the 80’s of this past weekend, but God is good and knows that farmers like dry weather to harvest our crops!

Now that I’ve become a blogger, I have become immersed in this whole blog culture that I never really knew existed. The whole community that is a part of blogging is rather amazing to me. An awesome blogger and photographer I follow, Cassie, recently put up some gorgeous pictures as part of a monthly blog challenge called Facing Myself. Facing Myself is hosted by a gal named Jess at The Old Nichols Farm, who is also an awesome photographer!

In Jess’ words “Facing Myself is a monthly self-portrait adventure. Everyone is welcome to join in, regardless of photography skill or type of camera. All you need is yourself and a camera.”

I looked at some of the past pictures and corresponding thoughts people have shared, and I was amazed at the honesty and insight people looked at themselves with. Now, I’m not a great photographer. (I actually take many of my blog pictures on my iPhone because it’s always with me, and I’m snapping photos out in the barn.) I also don’t share a lot of photos of myself because I’m usually the one taking them. So I’ve decided to embrace this challenge, and maybe I’ll start looking more carefully at myself in the process.

What are some of the roles I play? I’m a wife, a sister, a daughter – all important ways I relate to other people. My beliefs also identify me – I’m a Christian, an optimist (and I won’t share any particular political affiliation ;-)). What about the things I do? Being a dairy farmer, a blogger, a runner, a pianist – these also help define me. I’d been thinking about a picture to share, and I wasn’t quite sure what.

So the other day I came in from a run. I was blotchy, sweaty, and quite happy about it. I also decided that I was looking very “real” – make-up melted off, pony-tail hair, and my ugliest baggy shorts. Maybe in future months I’ll get the hang of the timer on my camera, but my trusty phone did the trick for this shot.

Thanks to Jess for starting up this fun adventure, and thanks to Cassie for sharing it on her blog so I could find it! Check it out at:

Facing Myself

Aside from busily doing sweaty self-portraits on my iPhone, I have been a busy lady at the farm too. I won’t make excuses about harvest or lots of calves. Instead, I’ll leave you with a picture of he whom some of you have expressed a crush on…

Have you taken a self-portrait lately?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Facing Myself Adventure, Running, Wellington and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What I really look like

  1. sweatykid says:

    I have not taken many self-portraits willingly… I manage to be REALLY unphotogenic in any type of posed photo. Candids all the way! How neat that you are a pianist — me too. And I definitely do have a crush on that pup.

  2. Brit says:

    I’m with SK…no self portraits for me. In fact, I try to avoid pictures mostly. I generally look goofy in them and do the plastered on “I’m trying really hard to smile.” smile.

    Maybe if I tried the self portrait thing I would get the hang of it. One of my cousins practiced smiling in the mirror for months before her wedding to train herself to smile nicely for pictures. It worked, they were all awesome with perfect smiles.

    Welle sure is cute! He’s super lucky to be a farm dog. Our Border Collie was a ranch dog until Chris moved to Indiana, I’m sure she misses those days!

  3. Jena says:

    I take self portraits often{does this make me vain?} . I delete the ones I don’t like, and keep the ones I do, ha ha.

    I have trained myself to smile a certain way, sometimes I forget and those pictures I delete because they just look so stupid. My eyes get bags under them if I smile to hard, or my gums show to much (ew).

    I love taking pictures every where we go. I don’t want to miss anything, and I don’t want to forget anything we’ve done. I love having pictures. Chris gets slightly annoyed when I say “picture time!” Ha Ha. He usually humors me, even if he does have a silly look on his face.

  4. Jess says:

    What a great way to represent YOU. And so real!

    A lot of my self-portraits are “sweaty” ones too, by the time I get done running back and forth to the camera. Hee hee!

    I didn’t see you on the linky, you’re more than welcome to link-up if you’d like to, so others can visit you too! 😉

    • Lisa says:

      I wonder if I didn’t do it right? I thought if I linked to the tile it would link back to right place. Maybe I need to go back and just leave a link on your blog? I’ll get this figured out 🙂
      EDIT: And, now I’ve figured it out. I now appear as a tile on your blog post like everybody else!

  5. Cassie says:

    Fun! I’m glad you joined in on the Self Portrait Adventure! Aren’t Jess’ photos amazing? I enjoy reading your blog – you’re so real. And I love your “selfie” – you are too cute – and very fit!

  6. Mmm…not a bad idea. I don’t mind posting photos of myself and quite honestly, I end up taking a lot of photos of myself just because Chris (the husband) hates the concept of being my photographer. Besides, he isn’t patient enough to get it just “right”.

    And I think that post-run photo of you does a great job of showcasing who you are…you look happy, accomplished and strong! 🙂

  7. Pingback: That Little Red Sticker « Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

