If you like statistics

Greetings from warm Minnesota. I’m sure it was all of 75 this afternoon, and they’re forecasting 80 or above tomorrow. Unseasonably warm temps for us up north!

It got to be a late night at the farm with several employees gone and many new calves. I didn’t even have a chance to think about snapping photos tonight, but I do have some other updates…So while I wait for the pizza we just ordered to arrive, I’ll entertain you with statistics!

Thanks for the feedback yesterday about running stats. I don’t have a garmin, but I do usually run with my iPhone and turn on a program called RunKeeper. It tracks pace and distance, but doesn’t give splits ( just an average pace and current pace) during a run. It seems to get all wonky if there’s too much wind or lots of hills sometimes, but it gives me a general idea of how I’m doing. Instead of just reporting the final run figures, I decided to see if the corresponding RunKeeper website created any cool charts or graphs.

Once I logged on, up came my runs. And, to my joy, it also shows mile splits! So while I can’t see them while I’m running, I can at least look afterwards. I’m a numbers person, so this was a happy surprise.

Now presenting… my first running stats report:

Plan: Run on my lunch hour – 1 easy mile warm-up, followed by 2 miles tempo (I was shooting for about 8:45 pace) followed by another mile of easier cool down.

I don’t know if I fully believe the splits or not. I just don’t feel like I quite ran an 8:21 2nd mile, and I don’t feel like I slowed down THAT much on mile 3. But, this feedback does tell me that maybe I tend to fall off the pace faster than I think. I also still have a cold that is settling in my nose and head, so maybe that accounted for me not being able to hold the pace. I love to over analyze stats (and actually enjoyed my business stats course in college) so I think we’ve opened a can ‘o worms 😉

Now then, want to hear about some dairy farm stats?? Most of these are Minnesota-specific, so bear with me.

  • Minnesota ranks 6th among the states in milk production
  • 99% of all Minnesota dairy farms are family owned
  • The average dairy cow in Minnesota gives 6.1 gallons of milk per day or about 2,236 gallons per year. Holy cow!

and for all you athletes out there…

  • Research shows chocolate milk to be an effective recovery beverage for endurance or resistance activities. I personally love a glass of chocolate milk after a long run (unless my stomach is rebelling afterwards).

Source: Midwest Dairy Association

Do you like to track things  (running, other exercise, money, calories)? Do you enjoy it, or can it sometimes drive you crazy?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to If you like statistics

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    75 is great weather! It’s still getting up into the high 80s here during the day and the low 60’s @ night. It’s pretty enjoyable.

    I love looking @ my splits. 🙂 I also have a spreadsheet that I keep track of all our bills, and I recently signed up for mint.com, which I don’t utilize as much as I could. I do not count calories. That is WAY to tedious for me. I’m not really trying to lose weight so I don’t feel like it’s necessary for me to count every single little calorie I put in my mouth. ew. Drives me crazy just thinking about it.

  2. Jess says:

    It was an unbelievably gorgeous day here in central ND too. I think it got to 89 in town, so was probably a bit cooler out here in the country… but warm enough that the chickens were wandering around with their beaks open, panting.

    I used to be nuts about tracking everything. EVERYTHING. But now with three kiddos if we all survive the day, and I almost get the dishes done, and almost get the laundry folded… I count it a success!

  3. sweatykid says:

    I track general mileage and workouts in my little spiral-bound notebook running log, but I try not to get too crazy with paces or splits. I went through a phase in high school of fairly severe disordered eating where I counted calories every day — it sucked — I pity that poor girl I was — never again!

    ps. If Minnesota is 6th… who is 1-5?

    • Lisa says:

      1) California, 2) Wisconsin, 3) New York, 4) Pennsylvania, 5) Idaho and then Minnesota in 6th. Wisconsin was #1 for a long time, but many states you might not guess are huge milk producers! Along the lines of your other comment, I have several friends who have struggled with ED, so sorry to bring up the issue. Good for you for overcoming!!

  4. as much as i love to run, no, i’m not much of a tracker. i might check my watch every now and then (or my heart rate if i’m doing intervals) but that’s about it. otherwise, i just run and have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

