Bizarre Foods… with Lisa!

Greetings from Minnesota. I believe it reached a beautiful 70 degrees today, and I think it’s now indian summer.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to post this post; mainly because you might think J (the husband) and I are crazy. But, I didn’t get any good combine pictures yet, and I don’t really want to post about combining corn on the farm without pictures and maybe even video. So, today I will borrow the title of a food show I happen to like. Get ready for some interesting foods 😉

Quick side note – both of these lovely food items were found, collected and photographed this weekend. In hindsight I wish I would have taken better pictures. Is that why hindsight is 20/20?

Can anybody tell me what these are?

 I’ll give you a hint. They were strewn all over our yard this weekend, and I guarantee there are more of them falling at this very moment. Pretty common in Minnesota. If you peel off the greenish-brown outside, you’ll find a very hard center. You can eat the inside – if you can get it open. I could tell you what they are, but I think I’ll see if I get a few more comments by leaving you in crazy suspense for a day or so. (Aren’t I the evil blogger?)

Now, it’s time for the really bizarre food. J was the one who found this beast in our yard, and I was actually speechless when he led me up to the front porch to proudly show me. It’s a maitake! A what? Basically a giant mushroom. See below.

Now, we are not mushroom hunters. But, my husband it truly one of the most observant people I know. He notices everything (obviously this has good and bad ramifications…) You wouldn’t think a 5+ pound mushroom would be hard to spot, but it really blends right in with the trees, shrubs and general forest that it grows in. After some extensive internet research to determine that this thing wouldn’t kill us and didn’t look anything like any poisonous mushrooms, we brought it inside and started chopping.

All references seemed to say we could just chop it up and freeze it in serving-sized portions. To eat, just fry in a skillet with a little bit of butter. J microwaved (not exactly ideal culinary prep, we know) a little bit of mushroom and butter to determine if it actually tasted good before we spent an hour cleaning, chopping and packing it into freezer bags. He deemed it edible, so now our freezer is full of mushroom. I still haven’t tried it yet, but I imagine I’ll have to soon.

What’s the verdict? Are these actually bizarre foods?

Just to balance out this post a little bit, I’ll tell you that we’re still keeping busy on the farm. The weather stays dry, and combines and tractors can be seen hard at work all over rural Minnesota. We had two new heifer (girl) calves yesterday and a bull (boy) today, so there is never a lull.

Running is good. That’s a simple statement, but it’s true. I feel like my long run on Saturday gave me a serious boost, and I had a great run yesterday. It was a true fartlek, with some hard near-sprints worked in. I felt good and tired afterwards. Today I planned an easy run, but it ended up a rest day by necessity. Things just got crazy. I don’t beat myself up over a change in running plans unless I just a skip a run out of laziness (which is generally a non-issue). If I don’t keep it fun and flexible, it could drive me crazy. And, that is not the point!

Any additional comments on my bizarre foods? Are there combines and tractors to be seen at work in the fields near you?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Crops, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bizarre Foods… with Lisa!

  1. sweatykid says:

    Geez, interesting thought, I don’t think there is much farming up here in AK. We have to get all our food shipped in by sea or air… which is why it’s all so expensive. 😦 At least there’s salmon and halibut!

    I scrolled over your bizarre fruit picture hoping you might have uploaded and accidentally left some kind of helpful label on it… but alas. I have no idea what it is…?!?!

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    I haven’t seen any combines in our neighborhood lately 😉

    I have seen them though. My mom’s family lived on a big farm up in Ohio and before they sold the farm/house they had some ginormous combines and various other fun farm toys.

    I’ll have to see if I can find those pictures @ my Moms.

    Those mushrooms are out of control! Good luck w/ all that! We eat mushrooms in our spaghetti, but that’s about it.

  3. Brit says:

    We have all kinds of giant farm equipment around here. Our yard is surrounded by corn and soybean fields (well, the corn has been harvested already, so just soybeans now).

    I really want to know what those things in your first picture are. I think we have them here also. One of the parks that I like to run through has a ton of trees that drop something similar.

    • Lisa says:

      Black Walnuts! Underneath the green “peel” is a walnut with a VERY hard shell. Maybe we’ll get around to opening some this weekend. Right now we’re just clearing them off the lawn and the squirrels are getting them:)

  4. Meg says:

    Walnuts, right?

    I’m super impressed by that mushroom. We have so many growing in our yard right now, but I’m pretty sure they’re all of the “might kill you” variety. Good for you for figuring it out though!

  5. Cassie says:

    Hey Lisa!
    Oh I can hear your voice while reading your blog! What fun! So glad you “found” me on my blog. I will so enjoy reading about you and your life this way!

    Before I read the rest of the comments, I knew those were walnuts! I think it’s very cool that you have a black walnut tree in your yard.

    Happy to be following your blog now!

    -Cassie

    • Lisa says:

      Good to hear from you Cassie! It is fun how much you can catch up with people through their blogs… I think everyone should have one 🙂

Leave a Reply

