Fall: Farm Sunsets & The Yard Work Blues

Greetings from 38 degree Minnesota. It was a chilly one again last night. I didn’t see frost this morning, but Sunday morning we definitely had a layer of ice crystals when I got outside. The weather people say it will warm up to 65 this afternoon; sounds good to me!

Yesterday was filled with typical fall weekend stuff – caring for calves and cows and preparations for corn harvest. We’ll begin combining corn today or tomorrow, so be on the lookout for pictures and info soon. For your viewing pleasure, here’s some farm shots from around sunset.

We went home for a late lunch yesterday and got in a few hours of raking, cleaning up branches and general yard maintenance before returning back to the farm. (This is also what we largely spent our Saturday doing once I returned from my run. Ah, the joys of a large yard…) I know we’re lucky to have a yard. I still STRONGLY recommend that if you don’t have a lot of free time; don’t buy a fixer-upper house with a neglected/overgrown yard! We’ve got a bit less than 2 acres, but sometimes it feels like the yard work will never end. I’m much more of a whiner about it than my husband, and we all know whining is not attractive on anybody. Sigh. You might say I have a bit of the “yard work blues.”  I haven’t shown you much of our house and yard yet, so here’s a small tour.

My neglected rosebush is also doing better since I finally planted it 🙂

In running news, Sunday was a rest day (as normal). Sunday also happened to be the Twin Cities Marathon and 10 Mile. It was perfect running weather, so I was happy for the runners, including a few people I knew, who ran. Did any of my readers happen to run Twin Cities yesterday? If so, congrats!

This weekend was also the conclusion of World Dairy Expo, held annually in Madison, WI. Normally J (the husband) and I try to attend expo, but fall is always busy so we decided against the long drive this year. In addition to a dairy show with cows from far and wide, expo also includes large exhibit halls that features new products and innovations for dairy farmers.

I feel like this post has gotten a bit disjointed (it will be in about 4 categories) so I think it’s time to quit before I wander off in another direction. Do you ever get the yard work or the house work blues?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Crops, Gardening and Yard Stuff, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fall: Farm Sunsets & The Yard Work Blues

  1. Brit says:

    I totally understand about the yard and house work blues. Our house is 30+ years old (read: still needs some renovations). We are slowly making progress on it.

    We also happen to have a decent size yard, 13 acres, with an orchard on it. I am so glad for fall so I can stop mowing around our 40+ fruit trees! SO time consuming!

    You are probably laughing at my whining over taking care of 13 acres…huge from my perspective though.

    • Lisa says:

      I think 13 acres is a ton for a yard; I bet that keeps you super busy! It’s awesome that you’ve got fruit trees too. Our little house is only about 2 acres, but it was so overgrown (buckthorn, boxelder trees, thistle, etc) that it has still made us into worker bees. Obviously the farm has a lot more acres and yard, but most of the “yard” has barns and animals and the rest is cropland so it’s really a whole different deal. Have you set out on a run yet? Make sure you post when you do!

  2. sweatykid says:

    I enjoy yard work and even occasional housework, but I think that’s because I don’t HAVE to do it on a very regular basis. I don’t own a house or land, so yard work/housework ends up being the type of thing I help the folks out with sometimes when I go home. It doesn’t hurt that they usually throw lunch into the deal.

    I’d get tired of it right quick if it were a constant obligation.

    Beautiful pictures! I love your dog. 🙂

  3. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Gosh, I can’t believe it was 38 there already! Well, I sort of can, it was in the 50’s here this morning. Sadly I doubt this weather will last very long.

    I don’t do yard work. We don’t have a front yard, we have two strips of grass on either side of our drive way but mostly our front yard is our drive way. Our backyard is an okay size for the dogs, but it’s nothing to brag about. There is nothing back there but grass, and two unplanted palm trees.

    Chris is the lawn mower in this family. =)

Leave a Reply

