Our Soon-to-be Mother Cows

Greetings from Minnesota, now about 60 degrees on the 1st day of October.

I haven’t posted any cow pictures in a few days, so it’s definitely time that CST (Cow Spots and Tales) talks about its namesake.

Above are some photos from our maternity pen. Cows are moved here when they are due to calve in the next 30 days, give or take. We walk around this pen multiple times each day to check if any cows are in labor, and we’ll move them into an individual pen to have their calf if they are. It certainly happens that some cows have their calf in the group pen too. Once a calf is born, the whole new-calf routine I talked about in this post comes into play.

The type of barn these cows are in is called a compost barn. There are 4 pens, and the expectant mothers occupy one. The link gives a ton of info if you want, but basically a compost barn involves adding wood shavings everyday and raking the bedding material with a skid loader. The shavings help dry out the cow manure, and the mixture breaks down and forms a pack that stays dry, soft and comfortable. We built this barn about 4 years ago, and one of the best things is that it is so comfy for the cows.

Do you recognize the red cow standing up in the big picture? She’s the same one who is lying down in the grass (on the right) in my blog header.

In other news, I hope to have a good long run tomorrow. I’m planning 7- 9 miles, specific I know. It should be cool enough that I don’t need to wear my water belt, which apparently makes me look like a “wannabe batman girl!” I had a good 4 miles today at noon, with one speedy mile at about 7:40. I think running fast (a relative term) is exactly what a person needs sometimes. 

Saturday mornings are my usual long run time because we try to take Sat. morning off from the farm for house/yard projects and some personal time.  We’ll go to the farm in the later afternoon, and then Sunday we usually spend most of the day at the farm, unless we’ve got something specific we need to be at. It’s important for us and our employees to all coordinate a bit of vacation time throughout the weekend!

Any exciting plan for this first weekend of October?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Soon-to-be Mother Cows

  1. sweatykid says:

    That barn sounds so cozy. Good luck with the long run! I have no exciting plans aside from having to work…

  2. Pingback: A Powerful Post « Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

