Who Feeds Us? Farmers Feed Us.

Greetings from cozy 71 degree Minnesota. I can’t believe it’s nearly October, and we are still getting temps in the 70’s.

You know how “they” say it’s a small world? Well, the world of agriculture is no exception. Many farmers know and interact with each other through organizations, educational events and happenings like county fairs and open-houses. Maybe we should call it an “open-farm” when people hold summer tours, breakfasts, etc at their farm? [ponder this]

Basically, we’re a tight-knit industry, and great projects happen when team work happens. Farmers Feed Us  is such a project. It allows anyone to virtually tour farms from the comfort of their computer. Minnesota launched our very own set of farm tours here in August. I even happen to know a few of the MN farmers (remember I said it was a small world)? 

 For each tour you take, if you’re a MN resident, you can register for free groceries for a year –  a $5,000 value at the grocery store of your choice! I would say that’s a prize anybody could eat right up ;-)I believe there’s about 10 states involved so far; just check the website to see if yours is listed. If you’re from WI, SD, MN, or MO – then you’ve currently got a Farmers Feed Us promotion going on. You’d better get yourself to the website, learn more about your state’s farmers, and register lickety-split!

Even if you aren’t from one of these, you can still meet some wonderful farm families and see agriculture in action by watching the tour videos. Click now. I promise it will open in a separate window! Farmers Feed Us Website 

Now, we’ve come to the point in the post where I usually talk about running. I haven’t been doing so swell lately, to be quite honest. I’m at about 10 miles for the week, and I’m enjoying the fall weather. I feel fine and all, but maybe I’m just in a funk because at my parent’s last weekend I didn’t do a long run at all. I didn’t even make it up by doing a semi-long run early this week, which is my normal fix.  

I’m also not training for a longer race, no half marathon or 10 mile planned this fall. I do want to run a decent 5K sometime before the snow flies, but I don’t have one picked out yet or have a focused goal time.  I’m just trying to keep myself around 20 miles per week so I can maybe train for something fabulous this spring. Why is it that when I have a focused training plan, I lament its structure and I don’t follow it? When I don’t have a specific training focus, then I feel like I’m floundering and need structure? Do you ever have this problem?? Pushing all that aside, running is grand in the fall. Today was a rest day, so I think tomorrow should be just that much better.

Because I am a total weirdo sometimes, I’m closing with a random photo. I was driving down a small street, and I literally stopped in the middle of the road to take this on my phone. Why, you ask? The tree was just beckoning to me. The photo doesn’t do justice, but I think I unnerved some drivers so I don’t want it to be for nothing.

Have you heard of the Farmers Feed Us website before? Is the program in your state?

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who Feeds Us? Farmers Feed Us.

  1. shelby says:

    That tree is jaw-dropping! I’m so jealous that you’re getting fall colors like that already. Things are still green and mean down here in NC.

    It’s hard to stay motivated when you don’t have a specific running goal. I think your 20-miles-a-week goal sounds spot on, though. Maybe give yourself a little more structure by breaking it up – i.e., if you’re running 4 days, do one day of speedwork, one day of hills, one easy day, and one (longer) easy day?

    • Lisa says:

      Definitely good suggestions; I do normally try for a long run and then head to the track about once a week and that does help break things up. I guess I’m not really sick of running/training, but I just want to race and no longer races really worked out this fall. I guess I just need to be diligent about picking a 5K and then really training well for it!

  2. sweatykid says:

    I definitely encounter a sense of aimlessness after too long without a running goal. I’m actually feeling a bit of that creeping in right now, so I’m right there with you.

    PS. Free groceries for a year? Sign me up.

Leave a Reply

