Greetings from Minnesota

Greetings from beautiful 52 degree Minnesota.

I recently decided it was high time that I enter the world of blogging, so here I am! On a serious note, I really appreciate the insightful, unique and helpful things many bloggers have to say. I now want to see if I can create something on my little plot of Internet real estate that others can enjoy.

At the risk of sounding like Garrison Keillor (which isn’t a bad thing), I must say that here in Minnesota we like to talk about weather! It is an appropriate opening, middle or closing to any conversation. As a farmer, the weather is even more important because the rain and sun help grow crops, provide feed for our cows and generally dictate our schedule. So, it was a lovely 52 degrees this morning, and I love these fall temperatures.

I truly love fall. The changing of the seasons always makes me take notice of God’s creation a bit more too. Colored leaves, fresh apples and the sweet-smelling corn silage we’re currently harvesting from the fields are just a few examples. I also love to run, and fall is a runner’s paradise because it is cool enough to run without getting sweat-soaked in 2 minutes or sun-burned to a crisp. I just wish it still got light out at 5am like the summer, but I guess you can’t have everything.

To avoid making this first post too long, I’ll close with a few fun facts about me.

– I’m a born and raised Minnesota girl. I’m also a MN Golden Gopher, so college kept me safely within Minnesota borders.

– I have a day-job in the agricultural field, and I spend much of my night and weekend time working with my husband on his family’s dairy farm.

– I have a lot of hobbies (some of them are actually necessary evils; see if you can guess which fit that category.) Among them are keeping up with family and friends, running, trying to be a good cook, traveling, piano, yard work, house remodeling :-(, working with dairy cattle, attempting to garden, fishing with H and trying to stay healthy and happy.  I may randomly talk about these, or things not even listed here, so please remember you’ve been warned!

– I also grew up on a dairy farm, so I have worked with cows my whole life and love talking about them. If you have a question, please ask. If I use some lingo that confuses you about faming, make sure to let me know.

Now for the good part. I hope to learn a little about my readers (which I’m hoping will start to appear soon) so I will definitely be asking some questions with each post. For today, where do you live and what was the weather like when you headed outside? And just so I know what kind of audience I’m dealing with, have you ever seen a cow up-close and personal?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Greetings from Minnesota

  1. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    The weather this morning was cool, finally! My car thermometer said 72, yes!

    When my parents build their house they decided to get some cows to go w/ the horses we already had. I’ve seen cows up close & personal.. I’ve seen calves born, and i’ve seen a rancher chase a mama cow down who was having trouble delivering. My parents don’t have cows anymore, but they still have horses!

    Glad you are back in the blogging business!

    • Lisa Marie says:

      Why thank you Jena! I didn’t know you were such a cow expert; I knew this was a good question:-)

      • lifeisbeachykeen says:

        Ha Ha.. I’m no expert, but I’ve spent some time around cows & horses! This is somewhat unrelated, when I was younger, we went to my Aunts for my cousins birthday and 3 or 4 of her mama goats had babies. That was pretty exciting for everyone!

  2. blndsnbrdr says:

    I’m a farm girl from across the border – Wisconsin – so I’ve seen my fair share of cows and other farm critters. I currently live in a town of about 60K, but even that is too many people for us. Eventually we will live somewhere out in the country!

    This morning it was cold and icky. Below 50 degrees, windy and spitting rain. I prefer to version of fall that involves pretty colored trees. Honestly, I prefer the dead of winter…at least then I know how to dress when I leave the house for the day!

    • Lisa says:

      Fall weather can be so hard to predict; at least we can count on winter to be cold! Hope you get nice fall weather for your upcoming races.

  3. Pingback: Oh Happy Day – To Me! | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

