Adam

I’ve heard it said that time is a blur, and days and nights often blend together for new parents.

While I don’t know this from personal experience, I did get an inside scoop this week.

My newest nephew, Adam, entered the world almost three weeks early on June 9th. Perfect and healthy, our whole family was excited for his arrival.

Back at the farm…we (of course) were in the thick of hay harvest, so I knew I couldn’t make the drive to see him right away. Then the sky turned grey and the rain poured down Wednesday night, which caused us to temporarily halt hay chopping. We covered the hay that we did have and prayed for dry weather again soon.

This gave me enough time to organize and make the drive Thursday afternoon to meet Adam. It was actually perfect timing because the new parents were exhausted and could use an extra set of hands. While I cooked supper they filled me in on all his particulars, and in the evening I got to hold a snugly baby while they took a much deserved nap!

20140613-210805.jpg
I wasn’t really sleeping on the job, but he was quite warm and peaceful.

The night hours passed in a progression of naps, feedings, diaper changes, and late night television. I may have also eaten a doughnut or two. {Don’t worry, I also brought good stuff like yogurt, cut fruit and veggies, and homemade pizza.}

All good things must come to an end, and now I’m back at the farm this evening waiting for the last loads of hay to come in. Once they arrive then we’ll finish covering the pile for good. (At least until second cutting in July.)

A big congratulations to Dan and Julie on their sweet new baby boy! Though my baby knowledge may be lacking, I’m glad I could help share in the excitement of some of his first days. I also promise to quit comparing his habits to those of a baby calf if I can help it. :-)

20140613-211225.jpg

20140613-211407.jpg

About Lisa

Just your average 20-something. I'm a rural-Minnesota dairy farm gal who tries to appreciate God's blessings to the fullest. Follow my blog as I talk about many of them!
This entry was posted in Crops, Family Fun, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adam

  1. Suzanne says:

    Aww, he’s precious! I’m sure they were very grateful for an extra set of hands.

Leave a Reply

