Tales of Summers Past

We’re in the thick of June. Summer is beckoning, and the days are long, warm, and lazy. Ok; they’re not exactly lazy. But sometimes I imagine they are!

Lately lots of small things have been reminding me of past summers. I think about growing up on my parent’s farm and the daily rhythm summer life used to have there. My sisters and I would find so many ways to have fun amid the chores we helped with. The apple trees were always thick and the garden was plentiful. The cows went about their normal routine, and we would teach calves to lead in preparation for the county fair.

There were always noon family dinners and late night family suppers. After hot days we would slip on swimming suits in the evening and drive the few miles to one of the area lakes. This was the perfect way to cool off when you didn’t have air conditioning!

I went through the first old photo album I found to look for some of these moments. The pictures may not be as sharp as today’s megapixels allow, but the memories certainly are.

20140609-225339.jpg
I think I’ve always loved dogs. This was Cody Rae, and she was as loyal and tenderhearted as they come.

20140609-225446

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m afraid I look ready for mischief here. I also remember loving that Minnie Mouse hat.

20140609-225603.jpg
My July birthday always arrived in the middle of summer fun and heat. From the candles it appears I am turning seven. And I have the best seat in the house on Dad’s lap. Gotta love the glasses and curls of this era!

20140610-045806.jpg
Linda and me washing cows for the fair. I think we usually got as soaked as the animals.

20140610-050310.jpg
With five kids we had many confirmations and graduations in our household. I mostly like this picture because it shows my mom. Usually she was either behind the scenes making preparations or she was the one taking the photo. Even here, you can see she’s busy setting up. I appear busy trying to taste.

20140610-050714.jpg
More summer fun in the barn.

20140610-112641

The whole clan at one of our favorite lakes. It’s crazy for me to realize even this picture is nearly ten years old.

I hope you’re already busy making lots of your own great memories this summer. Soak it up; it will be gone before you know it!

About Lisa

Just your average 20-something. I'm a rural-Minnesota dairy farm gal who tries to appreciate God's blessings to the fullest. Follow my blog as I talk about many of them!
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Family Fun, This and That and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tales of Summers Past

  1. Do you have four sisters?! I am one of five girls that grew up working on the farm too!

Leave a Reply

