Christmas Memories

Yes, it’s busy. Yes, we rush around to get ready. Yes, I end up with a disastrous kitchen, a messy laundry room, and general chaos in my house every year at this time.

Yes, it is all SO very worth it to celebrate Christ’s birth and be with our families at Christmas.

We enjoyed Christmas Eve dinner (for us country folk dinner is at noon) with my parents and one sister and brother-in-law. Then we hurried home to deal with some unforeseen problems in the barn. We had Christmas Eve supper with my husband’s immediate family and later stopped by his Grandma’s to see the whole extended clan. This included JR’s cousin and his lovely wife who’s wedding celebration we’d all attended on the 23rd.

20131230-210750.jpg The happy couple.

Christmas morning dawned early, 4:30 am early, as I had the first calf shift to allow my regular morning employee time with his young family on this special morning.

Things went smooth, unlike last year when Christmas morning was about 25 below, and I happily took in morning church. It’s always a small crowd, but I love “hearing the bells on Christmas Day!”

We celebrated more with JR’s family for the afternoon and had entirely too much fun playing in the snow. JR even took one of his cousins ice fishing.

20131230-211306.jpg

20131230-211328.jpg

20131230-211340.jpg

20131230-211352.jpg

20131230-211412.jpg

20131230-212607.jpg

That evening at the farm I welcomed two new little heifer calves to the herd. All the babies were pleased with the beautiful Christmas weather.

20131230-211518.jpg

And Saturday was my big family Christmas. All four of my sisters and their families filled my parents house to the brim with laughter, chatter, and love.

20131230-211637.jpg
My oldest nephew and one of three snowmen!

20131230-211722.jpg

As much as I love it all, I know it’s good that the year is winding down. We’ll stay home to do some cleaning and catch up and wait for 2014.

I hope you too had a blessed holiday. All the best in 2014; I hope you’ll keep reading along with me in the new year.

About Lisa

Just your average 20-something. I'm a rural-Minnesota dairy farm gal who tries to appreciate God's blessings to the fullest. Follow my blog as I talk about many of them!
This entry was posted in Christian Reflections, Family Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Memories

  1. Love the beautiful farmhouses in the background of your pics!

    Happy New Year!

    • Lisa says:

      Thank you! I suppose I sometimes take them for granted, but they do have wonderful farmhouse charm with their porches, snowy roofs, and classic white exteriors. :-)

  2. Jena says:

    Oh my gosh, I’m shivering just looking at all that snow! It’s pretty, but man, it just looks SO COLD! …and you don’t even have a hat on! AH!

Leave a Reply

